Babergh District Council

East Bergholt, Constable Heartland and Flatford Conservation Area Appraisal

21
July 2026

East Bergholt
Parish Council

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations
This Conservation Area Appraisal is dedicated to the memory of Nigel Roberts
“ Throughout the long process that has now resulted in the successful expansion of
the East Bergholt Conservation Area and the adoption of its first ever and much
needed conservation area appraisal, Nigel was an inspiring, expert contributor to the
difficult process and gave us all the courage and confidence to keep going. He also
was the most observant and detailed proof – reader of the Appraisal , which has been
a vital part of the process.”
(John Lyall, Member of the Neighbourhood Plan Steering Group, Chair of the East
Bergholt Society)
Babergh District Council gratefully acknowledges the valuable contributions made by so
many in the preparation of this Conservation Area Appraisal [“CAA”].
The Council wishes to express particular gratitude to the following East Bergholt residents
for their significant and much appreciated contributions towards the production of this
Conservation Area Appraisal:
• Parish Councillor Joan Miller [Chair of East Bergholt Parish Council],
• Parish and Babergh District Councillor Sallie Davies,
• the late, Parish Councillor Nigel Roberts; and,
• John Lyall, Member of the Neighbourhood Plan Steering Group and Chair of the East
Bergholt Society
It wishes to thank Jody O’Reilly of the HCUK Group for her major contribution as the
heritage consultant instructed by East Bergholt Parish Council to work on this document.
The Council’s Heritage Team gratefully acknowledges her tireless effort, expertise, passion
for the subject and collaborative approach in helping it to produce, publish and adopt this
Conservation Area Appraisal.
It thanks the Community for supporting the expansion of the East Bergholt Conservation
Area and the adoption of this Conservation Area Appraisal.
In closing a very special mention needs to be given to Joyce Baker. Joyce moved into the
Granary Barn at Flatford some 50 years ago, restoring this wooden building with great care
and attention to its origin and its historic setting in this internationally renowned landscape.
Over the years Joyce has researched the history of Flatford and assiduously collated
literature and original historical documents relating to the immediate Flatford area and
drawn on these to interpret the existing scenes and the secrets that they hide. Joyce’s work
and her wealth of information formed a most reliable basis for the CAA in respect of the
Flatford area.
The next step is to produce and adopt a Conservation Area Management Plan [“MP”] whose
purpose is to translates the findings of this CAA into actionable planning policies and
enhancement projects to guide daily development and maintenance.
We hope that the extended conservation area and this CAA and the planned MP will prove
to be a lasting legacy that will help to preserve and enhance the area’s historic and
architectural significance.

Dedication Babergh District Council Acknowledgements
John Constable: ‘A Hayfield in East Bergholt at Sunset’. 4 July 1812, V+A

21 July 2026

East Bergholt,
Constable
Heartland and
Flatford
Conservation Area
Appraisal

Babergh District Council

East Bergholt Parish Council

HCUK Group

Summary of Special Interest 6

1.0 Introduction
1.1 Introduction to East Bergholt 8
1.2 Designation and Boundary Review 9
1.3 Policy background 11
1.4 Using this Document 12

2.0 Understanding the area
2.1 Historic Summary 15
2.2 Spatial Character 29
2.3 Architectural Character 41
2.4 Setting 51
2.5 Views 56

3.0 Character Areas
Introduction to Character Areas 68

3.1 The Village Centre to Gaston End 70
Historic Development 71
Street and Plot Patterns 73
Boundaries 73
Building Types and Uses 74
Scale and Massing 75
Materials and Details 75
Public Realm, Open Spaces, Greenery 76
Audit of Assets 77
Issues and Opportunities 80

3.2 Constable’s Core 81
Historic Development 82
Street and Plot Patterns 84
Boundaries 84
Building Types and Uses 85
Scale and Massing 87
Materials and Details 87
Public Realm, Open Spaces, Greenery 87
Key Views 91
Audit of Assets 91
Issues and Opportunities 91

3.3 Burnt Oak and Gandish Road 92
Historic Development 93
Street and Plot Patterns 95
Boundaries 95
Building Types and Uses 95
Scale and Massing 96
Materials and Details 96
Public Realm, Open Spaces, Greenery 97
Audit of Assets 98
Issues and Opportunities 99

3.4 Flatford Mill 100
Historic Development 103
Street and Plot Patterns 104
Boundaries 104

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations |
Contents

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations |
Contents continued
3.4 Flatford Mill (continued)
Building Types and Uses 104
Scale and Massing 105
Materials and Details 105
Public Realm, Open Spaces, Greenery 105
Audit of Assets 106
Issues and Opportunities 109

4.0 Issues and Opportunities 111

Appendices

Appendix 1 Evolution of the area through Historic Maps
Appendix 2 Table of Designated Heritage Assets
Appendix 3 Core Constable Views in East Bergholt
Appendix 4 Acknowledgements, Bibliography and References

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 6

Summary of Special Interest
East Bergholt is an internationally significant village as the birthplace and childhood home of
English landscape painter John Constable whose art was ‘intimately involved in the portrayal
of his childhood world’ (Vaughn, 1999, p.213).
Constable’s artistic output, both large painted scenes and smaller intimate studies and
sketches cover a broad swathe of the village, its buildings, surrounding fields, valleys,
riverine and historic heathland landscapes. The natural beauty of the area is reflected in its
recognition as Dedham Vale National Landscape. The conservation area designation provides
additional protections specifically to the unique built character as well as strengthening
specific links between Constable’s wider cultural contribution alongside other artists such as
Gainsborough who worked in this area, and the specific locations in which he worked, many
of which remain appreciable within East Bergholt and its immediate surroundings today.
There is a strong sense of continuity between the scenes he depicted and the area today,
despite later changes it is eminently possible to recognise and experience Constable’s home
whilst walking the conservation area today. This offers a unique insight and connection to
the past and the world of this internationally renowned artist. The internationally important
artistic interest of East Bergholt is directly appreciable today through places where the
viewer is afforded a remarkable consistent ‘picture’ of what Constable saw and experienced,
remaining in today’s village.
Beyond the artistic and historic value associated with Constable’s work the settlement as a
whole is of special historic interest in illustrating the evolution of a Suffolk village over time.
Detailed historic maps from the early 18th century offer unique insight at East Bergholt to
the ancient enclosure systems which have remained within the modern landscape. With
retained routes, paths, field boundaries and patterns of settlement there are still means of
seeing beyond the more recent additions of houses to the earlier pattern of settlement and
the way that the ancient elements have continued to shape todays village. The conservation
area spans the historic core of the village and two separate ‘ends’ or hamlets that reflect the
influence of the ancient commons and heathland located to the north and north east of the
current village. The conservation area retains opportunities for further understanding of
archaeological potential relating to the earliest history of this village.
The importance of agriculture, milling, and the wool trade and industry and the wealth
generated by these industries is reflected in a series of fine timber framed buildings of the
15th and 16th centuries, the substantial church, early school building endowed with wealth
generated by this trade, and the longstanding presence of a mill at Flatford, though the mill
building has been replaced over time.
Well preserved buildings of all periods contribute to distinct architectural and historic values,
with the differing functions reflecting the breadth of human activity in the past and over
time.
A high number of statutorily listed buildings reflect the architectural and historic special
interest within the conservation area, and well preserved unlisted buildings, many of which
are contemporary with the listed buildings augment and enrich the character of the
conservation area overall.
The architectural character of the conservation area exhibits a high degree of variety —a
distinctive part of its special interest. This area is not of special interest because it exhibits a
very singular pattern of building forms or material palette but because the variety and well
preserved examples from multiple periods reflects a rich diversity of human tastes and
investment in their built environment and homes.
The settlement at Flatford represents an outstanding collection of highly graded listed
buildings, archaeological remains and riverine structures important in their own right as well
as being a group with key historic links to the Constable family and the subject of many of
John Constable’s most well known paintings including several of the monumentally scaled
‘six footers’ which are intimate explorations of rural life and the working life on the Stour.
The Stour Navigation was one of the first statutorily improved riverine trade routes in the
modern era and Flatford was a centre of boatbuilding for the Navigation producing most of
the two-boat Stour Lighters in its dry dock, recently restored by the National Trust.
Individual character areas within the designated area reflect distinct differences in
settlement pattern, type, and periods of settlement expansion with the golden thread of
Constable’s artwork and his family’s influence over the village running throughout.

1.0
Introduction

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 8

This Conservation Area Appraisal has been written by HCUK Group on behalf of the East
Bergholt Parish Council and in conjunction with the Historic Environment team at Babergh
District Council. It follows the guidance and structure set out within Historic England’s 2019
‘Conservation Area Appraisal, Designation and Management Second Edition, Historic England
Advice Note 1.’
A Conservation Area is defined as an “area of special architectural or historic interest the
character or appearance of which it is desirable to preserve or enhance.” The core of the
conservation area was designated in 1968 with an extension in 1975. Local authorities have
a statutory duty under section 69(2) of the Planning (Listed Buildings and Conservation
Areas) Act 1990 to review from time to time past designations and determine whether any
parts or further parts of the area should be designated as conservation areas and, if they so
determine, to designate those areas.
This appraisal is neither prescriptive nor overly descriptive, but seeks to establish and
summarise the unique ‘quality of place’, sufficient to inform the Planning Officer and others
considering changes or assessing proposed works there. Historic England guidelines point
out, that an appraisal is to be read as a general overview, rather than as a comprehensive
listing, and the omission of any particular building, feature or space does not imply that it is
of no interest in conservation or heritage terms.
East Bergholt is located to the east of the A12 approximately half way between Colchester
and Ipswich in south Suffolk.
The southwestern half of the parish, and much of the conservation area, falls within the
Dedham Vale National Landscape designated in 1970. The north eastern edge of the parish
falls within the Suffolk Coast and Heaths National Landscape (Area of Outstanding Natural
Beauty). The landscape character is described more fully in Section 2.2 of this report.
National Landscapes are designated Areas of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB) protected
under the 1949 National Parks and Access to Countryside Act. The cultural significance of
this landscape lies in the longevity of it as evidence of early human agricultural practice, and
in the contributions and artistic legacy of painters like John Constable and Thomas
Gainsborough, both of whom painted in this area. Though historic human activities are
reflected the purposes of the national landscapes is to protect the ‘natural’ beauty and
distinctiveness of these areas—the landscape patterns and different characters and
biodiversity richness.
Figure 1: East Bergholt and Flatford in their wider context
1.1 Introduction to East Bergholt
Figure 2: East Bergholt conservation area within wider landscape designations
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 9

The original designation of East Bergholt Conservation Area was undertaken in 1968. It was
extended slightly in 1975 but the extant designated area still only covers the very core of
the historic settlement running from Gaston Street, The Street and Rectory Hill. It is tightly
drawn to include what might be considered the historic core of the settlement running from
Burnt Oak at the junction between Rectory Hill and Gandish Road in the east along Rectory
Hill, The Street and up the eastern side of Gaston Road.
The East Bergholt Neighbourhood Development Plan (EBNP) was adopted in September
2016. Within the current plan at Section 5.3.2 on ‘Our Historic Environment’ there are two
recommended ‘projects’ which were not to form part of the Neighbourhood Plan, but which
could eventually contribute to subsequent reviews and to form part of the Local Plan more
widely. The Parish has embarked on a formal review of the EBNP with material policy
amendments, new residential site allocations, a stand alone design guide and greater
emphasis on the natural environment within the plan area. The aimed for adoption date in
2027 and the Conservation Area Appraisal will be a core point of reference. Project EB7 was
to update the Village Local List, cementing a carefully considered and criteria based list of
local non-designated assets. Project EB8 was to review the conservation area the text of the
project reads:
HCUK Group were instructed by East Bergholt Parish Council to provide an appraisal
document to address project EB8 and for public consultation. This appraisal will form part of
the wider Babergh Mid Suffolk Local Plan but have core areas of overlap with the EBNP—
particularly in respect to the new Design Guide. The appraisal of the conservation area was
initially started following the completion of a detailed Historic Landscape Appraisal in 2020.
In 2021 the East Bergholt Neighbourhood Plan Group in conjunction with the East Bergholt
Society (EBS) began to look at the built fabric and landscape character across the
Neighbourhood Plan area. From an initial consideration of 8 discrete areas, five were
eventually put forward to Babergh and Mid Suffolk Council as recommendations for an
extension to the East Bergholt Conservation Area.
Further assessment in liaison with Babergh Mid Suffolk Council has refined the areas to be
included within the proposed designated area (see figures on next page). It has sought to
prioritise areas of truly ’special’ character and appearance, has maintained logical and robust
boundaries and landscape divisions, avoiding boundaries cutting across open land parcels in
all but one area (north eastern edge). Comparison between the initially proposed areas
against the new conservation area outline put forward for designation are shown on the
following page at figures 4 and 5 and the final boundary is described below.
The proposed conservation area has an irregular shape where the southern boundary follows
the line of the River Stour from Fen Bridge to a point just east of Flatford. Fishpond Wood
forms the westernmost boundary and it extends up Cemetery Lane turning north east to
include the cemetery and historic property The Gables, before running to the rear property
lines on the western side of Gaston Street and on to Quinton Street taking. Blocks of later
20th century mass housing are generally excluded, though more recent infill housing
between older properties are included particularly where they perpetuate the individualised
design, plot pattern and spacing of older development.
A projecting section to the north follows Quinton, Heath and Woodgates Roads. The
Chaplin’s allotment gardens are within the boundary but the modern housing estates beyond
them are excluded with the northern boundary enclosing retained open land to the north of
The Donkey Track, a popular public right of way. This area is the only one where the
proposed boundary crosses open land not extant boundaries to provide a buffer to the
Figure 3: The existing designated conservation area boundary. (Base layer map from Babergh Mid
Suffolk Local Plan Policies Map)
1.2 Designation and Boundary Review
“Work with the East Bergholt Society and other relevant statutory authorities to
review and, if appropriate, extend or modify the boundaries of the East Bergholt
Conservation Area (Map 18) ensuring the identified views and open spaces are
protected” (EB Neighbourhood Plan, 2016)
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 10

historic route. To the east the proposed boundary includes housing along the western side of
Gandish Road, including the village hall on the east, and passing down the route of Flatford
Road before cutting eastwards to the south of Clapper Farm extending southwards to the
river and the southern boundary.
It is noted that the southern boundary is very close to the Dedham Conservation Area in
neighbouring Colchester District Council. It was designated in 1968. There are many points
of historic and associative interest in common between the two areas including links to the
Constable Family who owned and operated Dedham Mill as well as East Bergholt ’s
This Conservation Area Appraisal was presented for public consultation as required by S71
(2) of the Planning (Listed buildings and Conservation Area) Act 1990. The meeting was held
between 10am and 2pm on Saturday 23 May 2026 at the Lambe School, Gaston Street.
Necessary revisions followed before being resented for formal adoption by Babergh Council
as a Supplementary Planning Document. There are 30 conservation areas in Babergh
District, 28 of them have adopted appraisal documents. Bentley Conservation area appraisal
was approved and adopted in May 2025. East Bergholt ’s suggested appraisal is presented
here, Thorington Street will be the last without such an appraisal.
1.2 Designation and Boundary Review
Figure 4: Areas initially proposed by EBPC for consideration. The blue line represents the Parish
boundary shown in part.
Figure 5: Proposed Conservation Area Boundary. NB: the next nearest conservation area, Dedham,
is shaded in the bottom left corner.
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 11

The legislative framework relating to conservation areas and listed buildings is set out in the
Planning (Listed Buildings and Conservation Areas) Act 1990. Section 69 of this Act imposes
a continuing duty on Local Planning Authorities to designate areas which they consider to be
of architectural and historic interest as Conservation Areas, and to review those designations
with a view to additional areas or extending existing areas at appropriate points. Section 71
requires the Local Planning Authority to formulate and publish proposals for the preservation
and enhancement of these areas, in conjunction with public consultation and recognising
any views expressed through such consultation. Section 72 requires that in exercising their
planning functions within a conservation area, that local authorities give special attention to
ensuring that the character and appearance of these areas is preserved or enhanced.
National planning policy in relation to the conservation and enhancement of heritage assets
is outlined in Part 16 of the National Planning Policy Framework (December 2024). This
emphasises at section 186 that in consideration of new areas, or the extension of existing
areas that care must be taken to ensure that an area does have sufficient special
architectural or historic interest to warrant designation, so as not to devalue the concept of
conservation
The proposed extended East Bergholt Conservation Area is located within the local
government district of Babergh District Council. Local planning policy is set out in the
Babergh and Mid Suffolk Joint Local Plan Part 1 (November 2023).
Relevant Policies within the Local Plan are:
• SP09 –Enhancement and Management of the Environment
• LP15 – Environmental Protection and Conservation
• LP19 – The Historic Environment
• LP23 – Sustainable Construction and Design
• LP24 – Design and Residential Amenity
In addition to the Local Plan, the East Bergholt Neighbourhood Plan was adopted on 20
September 2016. It runs up to 2030, and the Neighbourhood Plan Steering Group is
currently in the process of reviewing and as necessary updating the plan. In the plan
Chapter 5 relates to Design, Character and Heritage. Policy EB9 relates to housing and Non-
Residential Design; Policy EB10 covers the preservation of Non-Designated Heritage Assets.
Two ‘projects’ were also identified: Project EB7 relates to updating the village Local List, and
of great significance to this document Project EB8 relates to a Review of the Conservation
Area. The full text of Project EB8 reads:
In 2021 the East Bergholt Neighbourhood Plan Group, on behalf of the Parish Council,
prepared a proposal for extending the conservation area. This was informed by an ‘Historic
Landscape Study of East Bergholt and the Cultural Legacy of John Constable’ (Heritage
Collective, now HCUK Group, March 2021) which was prepared with the intention to become
an important aspect of the Neighbourhood Plan evidence base.
This document is the result of further work to build upon the initial consideration of
reviewing the conservation area boundaries, and extending the areas included within the
designated area and as described above at paragraphs 1.9-1.14.
Conservation Area designation undertaken by a local authority aims to preserve or enhance
the character and appearance of an area which is of special architectural or historic interest.
Therefore, changes within the Conservation Area may require planning permission from the
Local Planning Authority. As certain permitted development rights are curtailed, demolition
or substantial demolition of a building will require planning permission. Within the sphere of
the natural environment within a conservation area planned work to a tree also requires
notification to the Local Planning Authority. Sometimes there are further restrictions
imposed through Article 4 directions, which remove certain permitted development rights.

What does designation mean

1.3 Policy Background
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities
“Work with the East Bergholt Society and other relevant statutory authorities to
review and, if appropriate, extend or modify the boundaries of the East Bergholt
Conservation Area (Map 18) ensuring the identified views and open spaces are
protected” (EB Neighbourhood Plan, 2016)

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 12

This Conservation Area Appraisal is formed of three chapters following this introduction in
Chapter 1.
Chapter 2 contains summary information to assist in understanding the general
characteristics of the conservation area in terms of its history, its spaces and spatial
character, its built architectural character and the setting of the conservation area.
Important views are considered at the last section of this chapter and summarises the work
of John Constable as it relates to the conservation area.
Chapter 3 presents more detail about four individually defined sub-character areas into
which the conservation area is divided. Each of these areas are defined to pick up on specific
attributes which set them apart as discernible individually within the wider conservation
area. Within each sub-character area the discussion follows a set series of subheadings:
• Summary of special interest
• Key historic points
• Street and plot patterns
• Boundaries and boundary treatments
• Building types and uses
• Building scale and massing
• Materials and details
• Public Realm, open spaces and greenery
• An audit of heritage assets
• Issues and opportunities specific to that area
As with the summary in Section 2, these character area points are not intended to be
comprehensive descriptions of each building in the area, but to pick up and highlight the
distinct aspects of the area as a signpost to occupants and applicants who may make
proposals within the area, as well as decision makers who will assess such proposals.
.
Chapter 4 is the final section and presents the issues and opportunities identified within the
conservation area. It describes and locates areas of poorer quality and summarises issues
from use, activity or other factors that may pose a risk to the special character of the area.
Opportunities to improve and better reveal the special character and appearance of the
conservation area follow naturally from the ‘issues’. This document cannot mandate any
such changes but this chapter seeks to identify where if the opportunity arises through
applications or through coordinated proposals from the Parish, improvements might be
made. This section will be augmented in due course with the production of a Conservation
Management Plan to provide the Council with additional tools to maximise such
opportunities in future decision making.
A series of Appendices are included presenting information relevant to the whole document
for ease of reference.
• Appendix 1 includes the historic maps for the area illustrating the evolution of the area
over time.
• Appendix 2 contains a table of the designated Heritage assets within the conservation
area are listed, including their list entry number and list description text
• Appendix 3 includes a list of the main and best known paintings by John Constable
within East Bergholt, including where they are held today, with a map illustrating the
broad sweep of locations from which he painted. It is noted that this does not include
reference to all of the works completed in this area, only the best known and most
renowned. For a fuller summary readers are directed to the East Bergholt Society
Website which includes information on the multiple smaller works, less well known
paintings, studies, sketches and drawings.
• Appendix 4 includes the bibliography, references and acknowledgements.
The figure on the next page illustrates a series of place names and features which are
referred to frequently within this report. Not every street or building name is given but the
location of core features are provided to aid in understanding. The approximate location of
East Bergholt Heath is shown overlying a modern OS base layer map and the remnant area
which is included within the conservation area known as ‘the Box Iron’ is shown with its
other common references ‘Quintons Triangle’ and ‘Gaston End’. The Riber Stream and main
part of the Stour are highlighted. The core pedestrian route known as ‘the Donkey Track’ is
shown as well as the location of some of the main buildings within the village.
1.4 Using this Document
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 13

East Bergholt Heath: Shaded area indicates very
approximate area of the heath covered by this map
area and as shown on Brasier’s 1731 map of the
heath (not georeferenced)
Gaston End: one of the historic ‘ends’ – satellite
settlements on the edge of the heath. First
identified in a document from 1437 (EBS). Also
referred to as ‘Quinton’s Triangle’ after one of the
older houses, the street it sits on and the shape of
this area of village.
Burnt Oak: One of the small settlements
peripheral to the heath, likely named after an
actual burned tree, marked on Brasier’s 1733 map
and first recorded in a document of 1384-5 (EBS)
Flatford: Flatford historic settlement and riverine
structures, now largely managed and owned by the
National Trust. Important links to Constable Family
and to the Stour Navigation, an important early
trade route.
The Box Iron: one of the historic ‘ends’ – satellite
settlements on the edge of the heath. First
identified in a document from 1437 (EBS)
The Donkey Track: Well used public footpath.
Origins of the name are not known but suspected
to be relatively recent rather than of ancient origins
(Facebook group chat: East Bergholt in Old
Documents and Photographs)
Village centre, the location of most public
services, shops, public transport links.
St Mary’s Church
Old Hall
Fen Lane to Fen Bridge: sunken track leading
down to the river, location for several JC paintings.
Figure 6: Place names and core areas referred to in this report
The River Stour: adapted to provide the Stour
Navigation from 1705.
Riber Stream and valley: Shallow valley with
small stream flowing through the central area of
the conservation area and feeding into the Stour
Windmill: The site of Golding Constable’s (Father
of John Constable) windmill on the edge of East
Bergholt Heath, marked on Brasier’s maps as
‘windmill bank’, windmill removed in the 19th
century but legacy remains in John Constable’s
paintings.
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities
The Lambe School
East Bergholt House, the former location of
Constable’s family home built in 1774 and removed
in the 1840s, the former stable and coach house
remains.
1.4 Using this Document

2.0
Understanding the Area

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 15

The following section presents a brief summary of the historic development of East Bergholt.
It is not intended to be a comprehensive history, and nor does it present detailed historic
information on individual properties, sites or areas. Evidence within the wider setting of the
Conservation Area for ancient habitation and early manorial history is referenced.
The Suffolk Historic Environment Record and excavation record shows limited evidence for
pre-historic activity within the parish as a whole, not just the suggested conservation arear.
Flint implements have been discovered close to Flatford but are interpreted as redeposited
artefacts through the action of the river. An earthwork just north of Flatford is a possible
ringwork monument in association with other ancient boundaries and routes seen in the area
north and east of the building group here. A flint scraper was recorded in the gardens of Old
Hall and there have been isolated metal detecting finds from the Bronze Age and a single
Iron Age coin.
Aerial Photographs provide some evidence for possible earlier field systems and enclosures
perhaps evidence of roman activity and enclosure both sides of Hadleigh Road close to the
A12, which follows the approximate line of the roman route known as ‘The Pye Road’
connecting Colchester to a settlement on the site of Baylham House some 30km to the
northeast. A possible Roman cemetery was found in 1838 while excavating foundations for
Ackworth House (HER: MSF5058) and earthwork banks still legible within the grounds are
possibly associated with this cemetery (HER: MSF23170).
The place name East Bergholt is Old English in origin: ‘est bercholt’ meaning a birch copse or
‘wood by a hill’. It is recorded in the Domesday Book the Norman taxation document, as
‘Bercolt’ held by Earl Harold Godwin and comprising 13 carucates of land, a population of
around 54 householders, 42 villagers, five small holders, one freeman and six slaves. There
was a mill, likely the precursor to that at Flatford today, and extensive areas of arable land,
woods, and meadows.
The Suffolk Historic Landscape Character project identifies much of this area as ‘ancient
enclosure’ characterised by irregular parcels and fields defined by hedges of often coppiced
timbers, and routes crossing them frequently now sunken lanes. The large open fields under
strips of ‘ridge and furrow’ cultivation so widespread in the midlands are not prevalent at all
in this area. Much of the enclosure around East Bergholt and the wider Dedham Vale is
considered to be medieval in origin. With so much early enclosure of land, population growth
during this period led to people constructing new homes and small landholdings on the edge
of otherwise common land, the heaths. Where these clustered together they became ‘ends’,
still reflected in today’s placenames, within the conservation area Gaston End is first
mentioned in 1437, Burnt Oak is recorded as ‘brendhok’ in 1384-5 (EBS).
Medieval manorial court rolls record four medieval manorial holdings in East Bergholt Parish.
Old Hall was the principal manor – named as early as 1349—and the focus for the village of
East Bergholt. Illaries is similarly ancient but there are very few documentary records. its
manor house was on the site of Manor Farm, East End. At one time Edward Lambe was Lord
of this manor. He founded Lambe school in 1594, still present on Gaston Street, with later
additions.
In the mid 12th century two sub manors were created by Henry II: The manor of Spensers
had its manor house originally located on the site of a Tudor Cottage, Mission Lane, East End
and the Manor of St Johns also known as the Commandery was situated close to the site of
White Horse Farm at the bottom of Mill Road, an area known on the old heath as ‘Bakers
End’. Both of these sites fall outside of today’s conservation area boundary
Figure 7: The Lambe School on Gaston Street
Archaeology and Ancient History
2.1 Historic Summary
Medieval

1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 16

The earliest phases of St Mary’s Church date from the mid 14th century with fabric of this
date focussed in the crossing and chancel arch. The exterior is generally late perpendicular
in style from the mid to later 15th century. Renowned for its incomplete tower begun in the
early 16th century reputedly with money from Cardinal Wolsey which ceased to flow at his
death in 1530. Whilst lack of funds is likely the reason the tower was not completed, links to
Wolsey are not so firm and it likely reflects general decline in donations and investment from
local wealthy individuals. The tower remained incomplete and the bells remain housed in the
contemporary bell cage dating to 1531 in the grounds of the church yard.
Early non-conformist religious practice is well known in East Bergholt. In 1644 at the height
of the Civil War, the Puritans of the village declared their rector to be ‘malignant’ and
replaced him, eventually leading East Bergholt to have a licence for a ‘dissenters’ chapel
after which a non-conformist and Independent Church was formed in 1672. Though
dissenting positions continued to be persecuted for many years so people worshiped in
houses and in secret. The current congregational chapel, originally called ‘independent
meeting house’ was constructed in 1856, but almost certainly replaced an earlier building on
this site.
The land at Flatford fell into two manors, partly in Old Hall and partly Illaries. As the lowest
crossing point on the Stour unaffected by the tides it was almost certainly an important
crossing point throughout history. A mill is recorded there in the Domesday survey of 1086.
It appears that there was a small subsidiary ‘chapel’ located close to Flatford in 1446 (Will of
John Gryth, Suffolk Record Office, also HER ref: MSF5066). It presumably served a swelled
population during the height of the wool trade and dwindled with it leaving only echoes in
field names, archaeology and documentary records. The Parsonage, and associated glebe
fields stood at the top of Flatford Mill Lane, just north of Flatford until the ‘New rectory’ (now
Old Rectory) was constructed on Rectory Hill in 1714. The moated site at Gibbonsgate Farm
(HER ref: MSF5050) is indicative of a high status dwelling further contributing to debate over
whether in the medieval period Flatford may have been a much more considerable
settlement through the 12th and 13th centuries. By the 15th century however there were for
certain two high status wealthy farmsteads at Flatford, Valley Farm and Gibbeons or
Gibbonsgate Farm where early fabric within Willy Lott’s House may represent a move away
from the earlier moated site.
East Bergholt was fundamentally a farming and agricultural village but, as with many other
settlements from the medieval period on through to the middle of the 16th century East
Bergholt generated considerable wealth from the wool and woollen cloth industry. The
2.1 Historic Summary
Post Medieval
Figure 8: The Bell Cage
Figure 9: The Nave and chancel of the Parish Church of St Mary Figure 10: The Congregational Chapel
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 17

industry was a cottage industry with spinners and weavers working from home, and field
names recorded on later maps referencing the industry and aspects such as drying or dying.
English wool and woollen cloth was highly prized and Suffolk was the centre of the industry
by the end of the 15th century with more wool worked here than in any other county. It is
probable that East Bergholt Mill may have been converted to contribute to this industry, at
least in part, though by the time that it was bought by the Constable family it was again a
corn mill.
The river provided power for fulling (water driven process to clean and thicken and felt) as
well as transport links. The wealth generated by this industry was poured back into the
settlement and the comparatively well preserved 15th and 16th century houses remaining in
the village reflect this. This industry began to decline in the later 16th century but slowly,
with clothiers, spinsters and clothworkers continuing to be recorded within the village at the
end of the 17th century.
Though there was longstanding use of the river Stour for trade, and various early attempts
to improve it for more intense use, such efforts came to little until in 1705 when Queen
Anne passed an Act to allow the merchants of Sudbury to improve the river, build locks,
bridges, weirs and wharves to enable consistent passage of trade along the river using the
Stour Lighters. The navigation’s peak period of prosperity and activity was between 1770-
1848, a period when John Constable’s paintings capture many aspects of the Navigation’s
every day working life.
The one element which was never established, even after later Acts enabled other
improvements, was a consistent tow path. This meant that there was a constant process of
negotiation with landowners along the length of the Navigation. The horses used to pull the
barges frequently had to cross the river, sometimes on bridges, but sometimes by stepping
on to the barges themselves, and by jumping fences or hedges demarcating land ownership.
The feats of gang runners and the towing horses to navigate this restriction lead to some of
the most renowned of Constable’s works a century later (see following page): ‘The White
Horse’ (horse being ferried across the river in a barge), ‘The Leaping Horse’ (jumping over
one of the riverside fences or hedges), ‘Flatford Mill, scene on a navigable river’ (horses
being unhitched from the barges to navigate the bridge).
In 1731-3 William Brasier was commissioned by the then Lord of the Old Hall Manor, Henry
Hankey to survey the first large-scale maps of the Parish showing field names and
landowners (see figure 18). As well as field names and landowners it identifies manorial
copyholds, key buildings, boundaries, paths and stiles, and natural landscapes trees hedges,
ponds many of which can still be traced and identified today. The Brasier Map captures the
ongoing importance of the Stour Navigation established some 20 years earlier and shows at
least three pairs of classic Stour Lighter gangs—pairs of tethered boats pulled by a horse
along the banks.
The map offers a unique insight into this early landscape within and around the conservation
area enabling contemporary understanding of the time depth of this place. In contrast to
many areas elsewhere in the country it shows a lack of common fields, and the early
2.1 Historic Summary
18th Century
Figure 12-13: Extract from Brasier’s map of 1733 showing a tiny pair of Stour Lighters pulled by a horse
slightly ahead on the north bank south east of Flatford, at least three such gangs are shown on the Brasier
Map. On the right an image of a gang in work in the 19th century (River Stour Trust)
Figure 11: The Stour Navigation, Flatford circled (https://www.flatfordandconstable.org.uk/history-
of-the-stour/the-navigation-1705-1914/)
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 18

Figure 14: ‘The Leaping Horse’, 1825 Royal Academy) Stour barge hose leaping
a riverside impediment
Figure 15: ‘The White Horse’, 1819 (The Frick Gallery) one of the renowned ‘six
footers’ showing a horse being ferried across the river in one of the barges
Figures 16-17: ‘Flatford Mill; scene on a navigable river’, 1816-17, (Tate) and
below, the view along this tow path today, from this position, Horses were
unhitched to allow the barges to traverse bridges.
2.1 Historic Summary
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities
Constable paintings depicting the life of a Stour Lighter horse

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 19

Figure 18: 1733 William Brasier 1731 Map “Shewing of What Mannor and Holding every Particular Field & in this Survey Holds of, Also, Whose is the Boundary Fence of each Pro-
prietor” . A slightly larger than life reproduction of this map is now mounted on the wall of Constable Hall.
(Reproduced with the permission of the East Bergholt Parochial Church Council
2.1 Historic Summary
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 20

Figure 19: 1733 William Brasier Map “East Bergholt Heath” rotated to present north to the top. (Reproduced with the permission of the East Bergholt Parochial Church Council)
2.1 Historic Summary
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 21

patterns of enclosure into small irregular parcels of land which are so distinctive in this part
of Suffolk. The open heaths which allowed for common grazing areas and areas from which
to gather fuel are also shown and a separate map was compiled of East Bergholt Heath itself
in 1733. The heath is criss-crossed by tracks and ribbons and clusters of settlement are
shown on the perimeter of the common land which as shown covers c.140 hectares. The
north western corner of the heath falls within todays conservation area with its early
satellite settlement ‘Gaston’s End’.
New high status mansions were built in the early 18th century on the site of the old manor
house at Old Hall for Joseph Chaplin, and West Lodge (now Stour House), both near to the
church.
What is now the Old Rectory was constructed in 1714 by the then rector Edward Alston,
previously the parsonage had been located towards the lower section of Flatford Lane,
marked as ‘Old Parsonage’ on Brasier’s map.
Towards the end of the 18th century, 1782, the rectory was appointed to the Rev Dr Durand
Rhudde. He was grandfather to Maria Bicknell (see inset box on p.23), eventual wife to John
Constable though their courtship and marriage was long resisted by Rhudde who threatened
to disinherit the Bicknell family members if they did not put a stop to any engagement or
association. The quantity of paintings and sketches of the Old Rectory, and views across the
fields between the Constable family home and the Donkey Track to the Old Rectory gain
poignancy when considering the long courtship and thwarted romance between the two
divided by this stretch of land.
Flatford Mill at this time featured four dry docks and two principal farms, Valley Farm and
Gibbonsgate Farm, Willy Lott’s Cottage being the farmhouse. In 1742 the merchant Abram
Constable purchased the wharfs, basin and docks, Flatform Mill, a kiln for drying grain and a
granary. In 1765 Abram left the mill and dock facilities to his nephew, Golding Constable –
John Constable’s father – and it remained in the Constable family until 1846.
John Constable was born at East Bergholt House in 1776, his father Golding Constable had
recently built the mansion reflecting the growth of his wealth based on the land, milling and
commerce. The extent of his considerable wealth and influence is summarised as follows:
Figure 20-21: (left) extract from the
1731 Brasier Map showing formal avenues
south of Old Hall but functional field names
to the east, ‘old hop yard’, ‘wheat field’,
(below) 1886 six inches to one mile map
illustrating parkland extended to the east.
2.1 Historic Summary
“He had inherited Flatford Mill and the flour milling business in 1764 from his uncle
Abram Constable (who died childless); he operated Dedham Mill (which he initially
co-owned with solicitor Peter Firman before buying him out); he owned the
windmill at East Bergholt to the north east of the settlement on the heath; he held
93 acres of agricultural land in East Bergholt which he farmed; and he owned two
sail driven Thames vessels (called sloops) operating from Mistley to London. From
1780 he was one of the commissioners of the Stour Navigation” (https://
www.flatfordandconstable.org.uk/)
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 22

2.1 Historic Summary
John Constable’s small studio (today known as Moss Cottage on Cemetery Lane), was
bought by his father in 1802. Though Golding had tried to persuade his second son to
continue in the family business eventually he conceded that he could pursue a career as an
artist. In 1799 John constable was accepted at the Royal Academy Schools.
The manorial seat Old Hall was purchased by Peter Godfrey in 1811 and he proceeded to
create Old Hall Park, clearing the former fields, hop yards and orchards between Rectory
Lane and Flatford Lane extending parkland character. Formal avenues shown on the Brasier
Map are not shown on subsequent maps reflecting a shift to more naturalised landscape
style. Godfrey befriended Constable and his family, commissioning him to paint the hall.
Several of Constable’s works include the hall or views from and within its parkland.
East Bergholt Common was enclosed in 1817. Larger landowners rationalised their
landholdings and straightened roads around the former common, this pattern is evident on
the north and eastern edge of the conservation area in Gandish Road, Heath Road and Mill
Road all of which were formalised versions of tracks once crossing the heath. The pattern of
other enclosures or land acquisition in the parish was irregular as so much of the parish was
already enclosed, as reflected in the Brasier Map (Figure 18). The previous common land
was subdivided and put under agricultural use. The village green in front of the former West
Lodge (now Stour House) was walled off giving greater privacy to the front façade of Stour
House, and leaving only a small fragment of the former village green. Other larger houses
were added to the north west of the village, Gatton House in c.1825 and Ackworth House in
c.1840 and these houses relatively substantial parcels of land now form important areas of
the conservation area’s setting.
Figure 22: (Historic railings set into a low brick wall, one of the few remaining elements of the
Constable family home
19th Century
Figure 23: (left) a young John Constable painted in 1796 by David Gardener (V+A) and a
detail of a painting of his future Bride, Maria Bicknell painted by Constable in 1816 (Tate)
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities
“To Miss Bicknell,
… This charming season, as you will guess, occupies me entirely in the fields … I
can hardly tell you what I feel at the sight, from the window at which I am writing,
of the fields we have so often walked. A calm autumnal setting sun is glowing on
the gardens of the rectory, and on those fields where some of the happiest hours
of my life have been passed.”
(John Constable, East Bergholt, September 18th 1814)
Figure 24: Maria Bicknell and two of her children’ c.1820

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 23

John Constable and Maria Bicknell eventually married in 1816. adding to Constable’s own
growing successful career as a painter. Their marriage was just after John Constable’s father
had died in 1815 leaving John in a far more sound financial position and meant they could
marry irrespective of her grandfather’s ongoing objection. Despite the strenuous early
objections her grandfather Rev. Rhudde eventually accepted their marriage and left her a
considerable bequest of Government bonds in his will. They remained happily married for
twelve years, Maria bearing seven children before dying in 1828 of tuberculosis.
Golding Constable’s estate was divided between the four children and provided ongoing
income to them over the subsequent years. John’s younger brother Abram took over the
family business to secure that income, but the family home in the centre of East Bergholt
was sold to a family friend, Walter Clerk. He pulled it down a short while afterwards finding
it in poor condition. After their father’s death John purchased land with his ‘favourite’ sister
Mary, though she managed and ran the land, paying him a rent as additional income
(https://www.flatfordandconstable.org.uk/the-constable-family/sisters-ann-martha-mary/).
John Constable lived through his later years in London, and died in 1837. He is buried in
Hampstead.
2.1 Historic Summary
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities
Figure 25: Extract from the 1817 Enclosure Map with detail of the village centre at the
bottom. The Old enclosures are also shown with their land owners. (East Bergholt Parish
Council)
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities
Maria Bicknell was born into a wealthy family. Her father Charles Bicknell was a London lawyer,
solicitor to the Prince Regent and the admiralty. He fathered seven children by two wives –
Maria’s mother was his second wife. Maria was due to inherit a substantial sum of money from
her grandfather, Rev Dr Durand Rhudde – the father of Charles’ second wife.
Rev Dr Durrand Rhudde was Maria ’s wealthy grandfather who had been a *Chaplain-in-Ordinary
to George III, but who had then become rector of East Bergholt Church. He had inherited all his
money from his sister who married a rich man, died childless and left everything to him and his
daughter (Maria’s mother).
Maria met John Constable while visiting her grandfather, the Rev Dr Durand Rhudde in East
Bergholt when she was twelve and John Constable was in his early twenties. When Maria was in
her twenties, the pair met again, fell in love and wanted to marry but were thwarted by Maria’s
grandfather, who threatened to disinherit Maria if she went ahead and married John.
At the time (1809) John Constable was a struggling artist, living on only £100 a year (an
allowance from his parents) plus a little money earned from selling portraits. This was not
enough money to support himself, never mind a wife and children. John and Maria married on
October 2nd, 1816, after a seven-year courtship.

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 24

2.1 Historic Summary
Figure 26: 1837 Tithe Map, some 20 years after enclosure of the
common heath in 1817, new buildings are focussed on the former
heath to the north and east.
Figure 27: 1905 1:10560 Ordnance Survey extract illustrating the
comparatively steady situation, with little overt intensification over
the latter 19th century.
Stylistically, buildings in the village centre and Gaston Street were
probably added, but they are as isolated buildings rather than major
programmes of housebuilding.
Figure 28: 1966-67 1: 10560 OS extract showing a far more
considerable phase of housebuilding in the post ware period,
houses laid out further at Gaston End, along Gandish Road and in
larger planned developments to the north west of Gaston Street as
well as with isolated houses in the village centre.
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 25

More widely during this period dairy and cereal farming started to replace sheep farming.
The windmill on East Bergholt Common continues to be shown on maps through to the end
of the 19th century though it is generally thought that its use declined before this. The river
trade at Flatford and along the Stour Navigation also began a relatively rapid decline in the
second half of the 19th century after the arrival of the railway in the area in 1849. Though
various efforts were made to keep the Navigation competitive the greater labour required to
run goods by lighter saw its eventual demise. The first financial loss was recorded in 1892
and although there remained a good degree of agricultural traffic leading to toll revenue,
maintenance and labour costs continued to rise. In 1914 the commissioners agreed to
voluntary liquidation. Though the lower stretches of the Navigation continued to run barges
up as far as Dedham until 1930.
In the 1851 census only 16 houses are recorded between Tuffnalls at the north end of
Gaston Street and ‘Gothics’, the majority being near Richardson’s Farm. There was little
change in the overarching settlement pattern and density between 1817 and 1837. Through
additional land became available after enclosure, new housebuilding was relatively slow as
charted on the historic maps on the following page (and in Appendix 1) clusters appear at
Figure 31: 1945 aerial photograph with the village centre and Hadleigh Road to the bottom and
Quintons Triangle to the top right. New housing being constructed west of Gaston Street
Figure 29-30: The restored dry dock at Flatford, summer 2025 with Constable’s 1815 work ‘Boat building
at Flatford Mill’ (V+A)
2.1 Historic Summary
“This is Constable’s picture of ‘Cottage in the Cornfield’ which he painted quite near
where I live… there were hundreds of cottages like this. … it provided an almost per-
fect balance between the necessary comfort, convenience, simplicity, economy and
durability that was wanted for a two bedroom cottage. But these cottages were not
standardised in the modern sense of the word – they all had individuality: you could
recognise a cottage just as easily as you could recognise a face. … I am sure that
what you see in this cottage is the basis of all architecture, which is an art of ar-
rangement and mainly consists in finding a sound and accurate balance between
comfort and convenience on the one hand and sound and economical building on
the other. ‘ (Erith quoted in Archer, L, 2006)
Figure 32: ‘Cottage in a cornfield’ 1817(V+A) depicting a cottage at the lower end of Fen Lane,
pulled down at the end of the 19th century.
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 26

Gaston End and Burnt Oak and from assessment of building character various houses on
Gaston Street were replaced or perhaps re-fronted but there does not appear to have been
a huge burst of new building over the course of the 19th century.
In 1856 Old Hall was purchased by a group of Benedictine Nuns from Winchester becoming
a religious community, they were succeeded later by Franciscan Friars in the first half of the
20th century. From 1973 the Community has been secular, continuing to this day.
The Flatford Mill Estate was bought in 1927 by Thomas Parkington of Ipswich to save it from
dereliction and was acquired by the National Trust in 1943. The National Trust have restored
the lock gate and bridges in their holdings over the years with the dry dock restored in
1988. The River Stour Trust have restored four of the 13 original locks on the Navigation
From the mid-century housing began to be developed along the western side of Gaston
Street between the widely spaced more ancient buildings with further infilling between the
late medieval houses on the east side. Along Rectory Hill and Gandish Road the new
additions were usually individually designed relatively large domestic properties with
substantial gardens. On Gandish Road is an important collection designed by architect
Raymond Erith (1904-1973). Erith was a leading classical architect in the post war period, in
noted contrast to the more widespread shift to modernism in this period. The below
abbreviated extract shows his own approach to architecture in relation to buildings depicted
by Constable:
Erith lived and worked in the Dedham and East Bergholt area from 1936 and developed a
close working relationship with the firm W T Wheelers, a firm of builders and joiners who are
still located in East Bergholt north of Heath Road/Mill Road. They were responsible for
constructing the staircases and doors for No. 10 Downing Street when Erith oversaw its
Figure 36: the most recent housing development on
the northern edge of the village, south of Heath Road
and north of The Donkey Track
Figure 35: View into Chaplain’s Road, late
20th century housing development east of
Gaston Street
20th century to present day
Figure 34: View from the Donkey Track towards new housing, in summer of 2025
2.1 Historic Summary
Figure 33: Google Earth image from 2025 showing new development continues to be built out north of the
conservation area (shaded).
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 27

2.1 Historic Summary of special interest
• An ancient village with several centres of habitation (polyfocal) whish was well
established by Saxon times—the conservation area covers the historic core of the
village and two satellite settlements which developed on the edge of common ground
in the medieval period.
• Flatford is similarly ancient in origin and features archaeological clues to both the
location of a former chapel, supporting East Bergholt Church, and a moated site.
• Gaston End is distinctive for the triangular shape of former tracks on East Bergholt
Common and retains a parcel of open land which has never been developed even
though the common was enclosed and developed elsewhere —it remains an important
archaeological clue to the former shape of the village.
• The village and its satellite hamlets continue to have close relationships in terms of
proximity and routes to surrounding land which has a high degree of continuity with a
pattern of ancient field enclosures, medieval in origin. This enables a direct
understanding of the way that small field parcels were created in the past to support
the agrarian economy of the area.
• The village has a long history of religious nonconformity—a dissenters chapel being
formally recorded in the 16th century though almost certainly building upon a much
longer history.
• The two maps by Brasier compiled in the early 18th century offer unique documentary
insight into the villages form at the start of the modern era, points of continuity
between the maps and the village today enrich the historic values and special interest
of the conservation area.
• The conservation area contains a high concentration of listed buildings which
contribute to special historic interest in illustrating the progression of domestic history
over time.
• The survival of a series of fine timber framed buildings with 15th century origins
illustrate the wealth that had built up in the area when East Bergholt was an important
centre for the wool and cloth trade. Field and place names continue to evoke this
history.
• There are important ties to the Stour Navigation, an early navigable river route
between Sudbury and Mistley Wharf. The majority of the distinctive double barges
known as ‘Stour Lighters’ were constructed at dry docks at Flatford.
• The family of John Constable were important local farmers, millers, and merchants
owning considerable areas of land, and from the early 18th century operating both
wind and water mills and trading vessels along the Stour.
• John Constable’s artistic output is of exceptional and international historic and artistic
interest. The indelible connection between the images and the sense of place depicted,
which remain appreciable to residents and visitors alike, offer a unique opportunity to
connect to the past through this artist’s pictures. His approach to art was to portray
his world faithfully, moving away from the imaginative compositions which dominated
the scene at the time. The ongoing opportunity to recognise in East Bergholt
Conservation Area today the places and scenes as seen by John Constable is of
exceptional importance and value. This extends beyond the interest of his individual
works and into the wider appreciation for the Romantic period and stylistic movement
which was hugely influential and remains so to this day.

1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

2.2
Spatial Character

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 29

The parish spans from the low riverine Stour valley on the south west up the undulating
valley side that runs north west to south east across the centre of the parish, with the
village on the upper slope where it transitions into a plateau at approximately 40m above
sea level occupying the north eastern part of the parish. The plateau extends beyond the
parish boundary towards Holton St. Mary to the north west and Brantham to the south east.
The very north eastern edge of the parish drops again towards the Capel brook and the
adjacent parish of Capel St. Mary.
The major solid geology of the parish is chalky boulder clay on the plateau. Superficial
geology shows underlying Lowestoft Formations comprising sand and gravel with alluvium in
the Stour River valley. The upper soils on the plateau and valley sides are loamy and deep,
ideal for arable farming.
The primary use of the majority of buildings within the village is residential. Commercial
uses are focussed within the village centre: shops (as of summer 2025 the Co-op in the
village centre had closed and relocated to a new building on Heath Road), public house,
chemists, cafes, smaller businesses. There is also a good sized public car park and bus
stops. Two further public houses are located at Gaston End (The Carriers Arms and The Hare
and Hounds with a former public house at Burnt Oak now a private house, café and shop. An
autorepair and MOT garage falls just outside the conservation area at Gaston End.
A cluster of businesses is also found just outside the conservation area on Hadleigh Road at
The Gattinetts, a small industrial estate on former farm site. The group of buildings is well
screened and aside from signage at the entry very tucked away and inconspicuous.
Religious buildings are focused close to the centre with the substantial Parish Church of St
Mary. A Congregational chapel, constructed in the late 1850s, is on Cemetery Lane, not
actively in use at present. Further commemorative and communal areas are located in the
centre as well with the War Memorial opposite St Mary’s Church at the end of Flatford Lane,
and the cemetery just west of the village centre.
Secular communal buildings are found at the Constable Memorial Hall on the east side of
Gandish Road, with large playing fields, a children’s playground and public open air gym
area and other club houses are associated. There is good parking here to facilitate regular
use. Though the historic Lambe School is located on Gaston Street, the current primary and
secondary schools are just outside the conservation area boundary on Hadleigh Road and
east of Quintons Triangle.
Geology and Topography
2.2 Spatial Character
Current Uses and Functions
Figure 37: The village centre, spring 2025
Figure 38: Museum displays on rural life in Bridge Cottage, Flatford,
NT
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 30

Flatford Mill is run by the National Trust and is the most overt ‘visitor attraction’ within the
area with a substantial car park, café, and small museum with interpretation boards
dedicated to Constable’s life and work. Various bed and breakfasts, Airbnb properties and
other accommodation options are available within the village and surrounding area. The
National Trust also let several of the buildings at Flatford to the Field Studies Council, an
environmental educational charity.
The Stour Valley Path and St Edmund Way are national walking routes along the river valley,
both of which skirt the southern edge of the conservation area. The substantial car park, and
public toilets within the village centre also provide important visitor access to the facilities
here.
The A12 is the nearest major road, following the former Roman Route to Ipswich. The noise
of the A12 is occasionally apparent within the village. Hughes Road leading to Hadleigh
Roads, Heath Road which continues on to Gaston Street, the Street, Rectory Hill and
Gandish Road are all two lane routes which provide the main vehicular routes through the
conservation area.
Flatford Lane is a small single width lane which loops from Burnt Oak down towards Flatford
and back up towards the Church. Cemetery Lane, Fen Lane and Flatford Mill Lane are dead
end routes leading either out from the village towards the valley and from Flatford Lane
down the slopes to the south and south west of the village. At least some of these lanes
leading out of the village towards the river are likely to have ancient origins reflected in their
mature hedges and sunken character with high earth banks for stretches. The character of
these sunken ways is recognised in wider landscape studies as an important characteristic of
areas of ‘ancient enclosure’ (before the 18th century) prevalent in this part of Southern
Suffolk (Suffolk Historic Landscape Character Appraisal and HCUK 2023).
Most of the main roads through the village have pedestrian paths on at least one side for the
majority of their length. An exception is the northern end of Gaston Street which, though
still frequently used by traffic, has no pedestrian walkway for its last c.150m
Beyond the road network pedestrians are well served by a system of footpaths, leading out
and through the village, as well as routes maintained and established within the National
Trust Land at Flatford and in the valley. The Donkey Track is particularly well used running
between Gandish Road and the new housing east of Gaston Street —the origins of its name
are not known but appear likely to be modern rather than ancient. The quieter Flatford Lane
and Cemetery Lane are also heavily used by pedestrians along with vehicles, connecting
through to the rural surroundings and footpath networks. Two National Walking Routes run
briefly through the area along the river and at Flatford, the Stour Valley Path and St Edmund
Way.
Routes and Street Patterns
Figure 39-40: Sunken tracks leading from Flatford Lane downwards towards the
river, above – Flatford Mill Lane; below—Fen Lane
2.2 Spatial Character
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 31

Pedestrians move through the conservation area on relatively standard tarmacadam
pavements, in the town centre small square paving slabs are used with areas of brick as
contrast. Curbs are a mixture of concrete with some stretches of smaller granite sets. No
historic paving finishes or road surfaces are present. On roads and lanes without pavements,
the road edge is informal with grassy verges where buildings do not rise from the street
direct.
In general, street furniture (bins, signage etc) are standardised and unremarkable. Public
toilets are available within the village’s car park off The Street. This car park is pleasant with
many trees and green surroundings to a good quantity of spaces. A period style lamp post is
located close to the WCs. The public houses feature signage advertising their presence.
Utility furniture and security fencing is also entirely utilitarian. Recent work at the head of
Fen Lane has seen the rather blunt insertion of a gas or water marker, the standard lap
timber fencing around electricity sub stations at Quinton Triangle and adjacent to the War
Public Realm and Street Furniture
Figures 42-43: Utilities markers, fencing and furniture, entirely unremarkable features within the
street scape.
Figure 44: public realm in village centre, standard black bins, a bench and K6 phone box, square
concrete paving.
Figure 41: The small remains of the former village green, curtailed in 1817 when Stour House
(off to the left) enclosed the space.
2.2 Spatial Character
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 32

Memorial are distinctly unremarkable, and at the War Memorial used as ad hoc advertising
space by local groups.
A K6 telephone box, now housing a community defibrillator, stands in the centre, between
the village shop and the Red Lion public house.
There are some signs which highlight and commemorate two connections to John Constable.
The first is a plaque on the railings of his family’s former home, East Bergholt house, the
second is on Moss Cottage, John Constable’s studio purchased in the early 19th century.
Adjacent to Stour House on what remains of one of the former village Green the village Sign
depicts the Bell House and was crafted by a local blacksmith.
There are no public ‘parks’ as such within the conservation area, and little open space freely
available to public access beyond the playing fields and sports pitches off Gandish Road. The
Neighbourhood Plan does identify important ‘green spaces’ though including cemeteries,
allotments, the Box Iron, school playgrounds and the playing fields. The network of public
footpaths gives good public access to the surrounding countryside alongside permitted
access to the land at Flatford and on the valley sides provided by the National Trust.
Commemorative spaces (see next page) include the cemetery and church yard around the
Parish Church of St Mary the Virgin. The church yard has well maintained paths and several
benches to encourage dwelling within this pleasant space. The Constable family tombs are
located in the corner of the space, somewhat tucked away and not overtly obvious. The bell
chamber features an information board giving a history of its use and creation. An
information board provides historic information about the Bell Cage, an important and
unique historic feature in the village. John Constable’s parents are buried here in the
northern corner of the graveyard. The cemetery is accessed both by paths from the town
centre car park and from Cemetery Lane. It is a quiet green pleasant space and its red brick
boundary wall and mature yew trees are attractive features in Cemetery Lane. The War
Memorial is located on a small grassy triangle at the entry to Flatford Lane opposite the
Church of St Mary the Virgin.
Private gardens, whilst not fully visible, and of course not publicly accessibly nonetheless
make a contribution to character particularly where greenery and various mature trees are
perceived throughout the area, softening the built forms. On streets with prevalence of front
gardens, they create a distinct sense of openness, even where houses are relatively closely
spaced (Gaston Street). Where trees are visible between and behind buildings they add to a
sense of rural surroundings hinting and indicating the linear nature of development along
street lines, rather than at depth. This is particularly true on the western side of Gaston
Street where the substantial gardens and mature planting to the rear limits the degree to
which the later 20th century housing sitting behind the houses here being perceived.
Generally gardens are well tended and in good condition. A mix of walls, railings, and fences
provide enclosure but the variety, and frequent use of hedges, secures a sense of
greenness.
Open Spaces
Figure 45: the lush ‘tree tunnel’ on Hadleigh Road, entering the conservation area.
Figure 46: Looking south along Gaston Street where gardens and set back building
lines so that front gardens contribute to a sense of greenery even in one of the more
closely developed areas of the village.
2.2 Spatial Character
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 33

Figure 47: A place to dwell in St Mary’s Church Yard and below,
Figure 48: The Constable family tomb stones.
Figure 49: The War memorial at the head of Flatford Lane
Figure 50: Looking into the cemetery from Cemetery Lane.
2.2 Spatial Character
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 34

A similar sense of lush greenness is provided by mature trees which line several of the
entrances into the Conservation Area core, and contribute pleasing contrast to the various
areas within the conservation area. This is particularly true at Hadleigh Road and on Gandish
Road adjacent to the memorial hall and playing fields.
Inside the area the verdant wooded character of Rectory Hill is notable, as is the central
stretch of Gaston Street, north of Richardson’s Farm. Constable’s favourite tree was the
Black Poplar, currently seeing something of a revival in the area after a period of decline.
While there are no formally designated registered parks within the area, Old Hall had a
parkland set out after 1817, and the Brasier map indicates that previously there were formal
avenues extending in a radial pattern south of the hall. With large areas of grassland and
mature specimen trees still visible within the surroundings of the building, there remains a
sense of parkland. Estate railings around land at Old Hall perpetuate this sense.
There are no extensive areas of woodland within the conservation area, and no areas of
identified ancient woodland but trees are frequent in the area and important elements of
Figure 51: ‘ Parkland’ shaded grey at Old Hall and to the north around Ackworth house on the later
19th century Ordnance Survey Map .
Figure 52: View into the parkland south of Rectory Hill looking towards Old Hall/St Mary’s Abbey.
Specimen trees, grazing stock, pasture all retain a sense of arcadian English parkland.
Figure 53: Woodland to the south east of Old Hall, close to and screening the sewage treatment
plant in this area.
Park and Woodland
2.2 Spatial Character
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 35

character. There is a reasonably large area of coppiced woodland outside the conservation
area at Lodge Plantation and Foxhall coverts north of The Lodge and Allens Farm but within
the conservation area trees are predominantly features of hedgerows and gardens.
Smaller areas of woodland surround the sewage works within the former parkland of Old Hall
and in the millennium woods planted some 25 years ago east of the Donkey Track. Within
the village centre mature trees in larger gardens add distinct arboreal interest those along
Rectory Hill give this an almost wooded feel. As described above the frequent trees in
gardens along Rectory Hill, the Street and Gaston Street mean that the village buildings are
sometimes barely perceived. Contrast between ornamental mature conifers and native
deciduous species add to visual contrast and provide visual clues to the contrast between
boundary trees and planted specimens within the larger properties..
The river banks also feature frequent trees, particularly willows providing distinct contrast to
the more deciduous hedgerows on the higher ground. Trees within the hedgerow boundaries
are also frequent and contribute to a sense of continuity with the rural scenes painted by
Constable, though the ravages of Dutch Elm disease in the later 20th century have removed
one species studied by Constable in exceptional detail, though interestingly the subject of
the below drawing actually blew down in storms only a few years later.
Despite the absence of extensive woodland the conservation area and its setting has a very
verdant character where trees and arboreal cover are important to the quality and
appearance of the conservation area.
Figure 54: Elm Trees in Old Hall Park, John Constable 1817, pencil
with washes (V&A Museum)
Figure 55-56: (Top) ‘Dedham Vale Morning’ 1811 (Private Collection) trees both distant and
close framing and giving scale in the landscape and (below) the view over Dedham Vale from
Flatford Lane in 2025, shaded vantage point over the valley
2.2 Spatial Character
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 36

Agricultural uses are apparent in the rural nature of much of the surrounding fields and
landscape both within the conservation area and forming its setting. There is pasture and
arable crops in evidence. There remain several active farms within the area, including close
in to the village at Richardson’s Farm on Gaston Street, and Mill and Willow farm on Gandish
Road. Allens Farm, Vale Farm, Gosnall’s Farm and Clapper Farm all fall within the setting of
the conservation area and are clearly distinct from the village core. Mill and Willow Farms
was similarly distinct on the edge of the heath until 20th century expansion along Gandish
Road.
The conservation area spans three areas of Landscape Character as defined by the Suffolk
Landscape Character Project, they are described as follows:
“The plateau farmlands lie on elevated land between the two valleys of the Stour to
the south and Stamford to the north and north east. The enclosed heath and commons
and regular landscape pattern associated with 19th century enclosure makes this
landscape type locally distinctive. Away from transport corridors this is a tranquil
landscape, with a strong sense of isolation and network of tall hedges and quiet lanes.
Long views across the heath are an important characteristic of the village setting,
particularly across larger scale landscape to the north of the village. The southern part
of this landscape character type, including the former heath immediately east of the
village centre is lies within the Dedham Vale AONB designation.
The rolling valley farmlands encompasses the gentle valley sides and some more
complex and steep slopes and sunken lanes are characteristic. The Stour valley slopes
afford extensive views across the Dedham Vale made iconic in Constable’s work and
lie within the Dedham Vale AONB. The Samford Valley lies within the recently extended
Suffolk Coast and Heaths AONB designation.
The valley meadowlands landscape character type is generally unsettled with
exception of the Flatford Mill Complex and comprises pasture divided by wet ditches,
with occasional wet woodland. It has a tranquil picturesque character, protected by the
Dedham Vale AONB designation. ”
The conservation area covers aspects of all three of the above areas, a narrow strip of the
valley meadowlands on the eastern bank of the Stour, the rolling valley farmlands rising up
towards the village heart on the plateau farmlands. The views over Dedham Vale and the
Stour are an important characteristic of the conservation area with significant links to
Constable’s work (see the section on setting and views).
A more granular approach to historic landscape characterisation was first undertaken in
1998-99 by Matthew Ford as the first part of a wider East of England HLC Project
Rural Landscape
Figure 57: Above, the broad landscape character areas covering the conservation aera and
parish;
Figure 58: below, the granular historic landscape characterisation areas.
Plateau Farmlands
Rolling Valley Farmlands
Valley Meadowlands
2.2 Spatial Character
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 37

covering Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire, Essex, Norfolk and Suffolk. The work was
undertaken by the Suffolk County Council Archaeological Service and funded by English
Heritage (now known as Historic England).
The irregular patchwork pattern of fields around East Bergholt is a distinct landscape
character reflecting an early pattern of enclosure prior to the 18th century, and in some
instances likely to be medieval in origin. The technical sub type of landscape character
which is found within the Conservation Area and extending is described in the Suffolk
Historic Landscape Character (HLC) Project as:
This sub-type description suits much of the landscape within and around East Bergholt
particularly when comparing existing boundaries to the early 1731 Brasier Map illustrating
continuity with this past pattern of land use: “landscapes made up of fields that have an
irregular pattern (i.e. without any dominant axis). Many were in existence by the medieval
period, but could be earlier. Boundaries are usually take the form of species-rich hedges
(normally coppiced not laid) with associated ditches and banks” (Suffolk HLC). The ability to
see and appreciate the time depth of this landscape is a distinct strand of interest leading to
the designation of the Dedham Vale National Landscape (DVNL formerly Area of Outstanding
National Beauty), the continuity of the landscape today with that seen and painted by John
Constable, and others like Thomas Gainsborough, contributes directly to the cultural interest
of these landscapes (Statement of Significance for the DVNL 2016-2021 Management Plan).
The broad Stour Valley runs south and west of the village with the land within the
conservation area for the most part on the valley slope, flat riverine meadows are principally
on the western side of the Stour rather than on the East Bergholt side.
The East Bergholt Heath sat to the north and north east of the village core, this was an area
of open land for the communal use of the commoners within the feudal manorial system
Figure 59-60: Aerial view of the southern part of East Bergholt Village Cemetery Lane at top left,
Flatford Mill at bottom right compared with the same portion on the Brasier Map. Many of the early
boundaries remain legible in today’s pattern of fields
Figure 61: View over the valley landscape of the DVNL from Rectory Lane towards Dedham, early
2025
“Type 1.0 Pre-18th Century Enclosure —Sub type 1.1 Random Fields
In many of the areas of ‘ancient enclosure’ in Suffolk there is little evidence for
a medieval phase of common-field farming: some areas had limited areas of
common fields (as in north Suffolk) but in others there were none (as is often
the case in south Suffolk). The identification of these earlier landscapes, which
date back to medieval and in some cases even earlier, was a priority behind the
development of the HLC mapping. These earlier landscapes are of great historic
significance and have different management needs to later field systems.”
2.2 Spatial Character
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 38

which came to its peak between 850 and 1150 (https://acraew.org.uk/history -common-land-and-
village-greens). Though the land was owned as part of the manors they nonetheless provided
land for all to use, frequent rights would be to gather timber or coppice wood for construction or
fuel, to graze livestock and provide ‘pannage’ for pigs, to fish, to cut turf for fuel. The only
remaining open area of the former heath in the conservation area is at Gaston End—the Box Iron.
The Heath was formally enclosed in 1817, its lands divided up to the major landowners and no
longer available for common grazing. However, many of the tracks which once ran across it were
formalised to create today’s street and road patterns and the landscape which runs along their
routes but they remain important clues to the past trackways. Gandish Road was slightly
straightened as was Heath Road. Research by the East Bergholt Society has revealed surprisingly
frequent points of continuity between this ancient landscape area shown on the two Brasier maps
and features that can be found in today’s village layout.
The area of open land known as the Box Iron (because of its shape) is one area which has never
been put to agricultural use, and which remains undeveloped, an echo of the former heath and
common grazing land. This portion once formed the village green to the hamlet at Gaston End.
After enclosure it continued to be used for grazing by the farmer of Woodgates. The full extent of
the former open land has been reduced through the encroachment of housing, but the pattern of
streets forming Quinton Triangle remains an important echo of the early layout with the links
along Heath Road and Gandish Road to Burnt Oak also points of continuity with the heath
landscape tracks included within the Conservation area.
Figure 62: View into the area of land known as The Box Iron, an area of undeveloped former
Heath and the village green to one of the historic ‘ends’ -Gaston’s End
Figure 63-64: Extracts from the 1731 Brasier map of Gaston End (top) and the current Google
Earth street view showing the retained open ‘Box Iron’ with housing now on all sides and moving
further to the east over the former heath.
2.2 Spatial Character
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 39

2.3 Summary of Spatial Special interest
• Important overlap with the nationally designated landscape of the Dedham Vale National
Landscape.
• Conservation Area includes areas of ‘ancient enclosure’ which are directly appreciable today
and which enable a direct connection between the village core and the landscape which
served it from the medieval period and on.
• Comparatively constrained areas of modern expansion to mass housing preserves a close
connection between evidence of human activity in the village, and human shaping of the
landscape that served and supported its occupants.
• Archaeological legibility of common spaces and greens remain within the conservation area
in the village centre and at Gaston End.
• Routes and differing patterns and periods of buildings give illustration of the period of
enclosure from 1817 and subsequent development on enclosed heath.
• High degree of consistency between historic routes and todays village morphology. Later
buildings have, in general, preserved the historic pattern and layout of buildings and
houses creating a consistent ‘character’ even though each area encompasses buildings of
multiple periods.
• There are important areas of surrounding setting which are similarly well preserved (to the
north west, south, south east and east) which contribute positively to the conservation
area’s significance enabling understanding of rural character of settlement.
• Limited and few areas of compromised spatial or aesthetic quality contributing overall to
the spatial quality and significance of the area as a well preserved historic settlement.

1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

2.3
Architectural Character

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 41

This chapter of the report summarises aspects of the architectural interest seen within the
conservation area. Further detail on individual sub-areas is provided in later chapters and
specific buildings of special architectural and historic interest which are included on the
national statutory list are tabulate in Appendix 2.
A core characteristic of the architectural Character in East Bergholt is the variety of materials
and details which can be found. This provides visual character and interest to the streets and
experience as well as giving clues to the various periods of development and evolution of the
settlement.
Timber framing in a traditional East Anglian tradition is present in several buildings, not all
visible externally. Wherever timber framing survives it represents important and usually
early examples of traditional construction techniques. These buildings almost all belong at
the upper levels of society where they do survive, the poorer quality of buildings though they
may have been primarily timber do not generally survive though the potential for individual
building investigations to reveal early retained cores of ancient historic framing is considered
relatively high.
Timber framing continued to be used in later periods but were frequently rendered, and
utilised smaller scale timbers and wider spacing, reflecting general scarcity of substantial
timbers and also changing tastes and fashions.
Brick is the predominant solid mass construction material within the village. Historic records,
maps and field names record the presence of brick making in the local area. In 2021
archaeological excavations by Colchester Archaeological Trust close to the current medical
centre on Heath Road uncovered the remains of a brick kiln from the 1800s. It is highly likely
that many of the brick buildings in East Bergholt are constructed of local brick. It is present
in a variety of colours from pale white or buff, through to warm red-orange, multiple colours
of brick could still be locally produced depending on the individual clay used. It is used
decoratively with polychrome effects in some 19th century buildings including the
Congregational Chapel and the later ranges at Old Hall, but buildings predominantly use a
single colour. Flemish Bond, rising to popularity in the 17th century is frequently seen in all
buildings pre-dating the 20th century.
There is very little stone within the village – reflecting its absence from the local geology. Its
most prominent use is on St Mary’s Church where freestone dressings define corners,
openings, pilasters and panels of classic East Anglian flint work in several styles. Early brick
perhaps from an older building, is seen in some areas in amongst the earlier areas of flint
work. Stone detailing is also seen at Old Hall.
Historic roofs in the village are predominantly old plain tile, red in colour. They are seen on
the steeper pitched roofs and mansard forms on the older low cottages. From the 18th and
early 19th century periods, roof pitches become shallower and natural grey slate is seen,
these roofs have a notably contrasting texture from the older tile. More recent roofs feature
more standardised cement tiles including profiled pan tile.
There is limited use of thatch with only Bridge Cottage at Flatford (Grade II*) and the nearby
Granary barn being finished with this material, the last thatched building within the main
village having had its thatch replaced in the Spring of 2025 (Quintons at Gaston End). It is
highly likely that many of the older and vernacular buildings were once thatched, but like the
poorer quality of domestic timber framed houses, it would have been replaced over time
leaving little trace.
Roof forms throughout the village are very varied with gabled, hipped, half hipped, and
mansard forms all seen at various points within the conservation area and contributing to
2.3 Architectural Character
Walling Materials
Roofs
Figure 65 Fine dressed flintwork and stone at St Mary’s Church
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 42

From left Richardson’s Farmhouse, Valley Farmhouse at Flatford (ancient timber framing; Later 18
th
century timber framing on Red Lion cottage, formerly rendered; Georgian red brick in Flemish bond with splayed
headers and a classical façade at The Old Rectory (EBS)
From left Vernacular brick in a cottage on Gandish Road; white brick at Chapel House, a refronting of an earlier house; polychrome brickwork on the later 19th century Jubilee House on Gaston Street; and, white brick
with stone and brick detailing at Old Hall
2.3 Architectural Character
Figure 66: Walling Materials and roof examples
From left: Variety in roof forms, gabled and pan tiles, half hipped and gambrel, shallow hipped, steep slope of thatch at Flatford, the only location where thatch roofing survives within the conservation area.
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 43

visual architectural variety. Different roof pitches and alignments in combination with a
variety in building position in relation to the street and property boundaries all add to a
sense of variety in the village roofscape. For the most part roofs are fully visible with eaves
overhanging facades. Three of the larger classically styled houses (The Old Rectory, Old
Chapel House and Little Court) feature parapets but even here the roofs remains visible
above.
More recent roofs utilise various different materials, including pantiles though mass produced
rather than hand made. Other mass produced concrete tile is present as are some instances
of asbestos or corrugated sheet material, mainly on outbuildings or agricultural structures.
Windows in the conservation area reflect multiple styles and periods and though some
buildings have clearly seen fenestration replaced or updated, there remains a good sense of
period survivals that enable an understanding of different periods of window technology.
Modern uPVC or plastic windows do exist and are generally poor quality. Doors are similarly
varied but where more decorative porches or surrounds survive, they add to architectural
interest, particularly reflecting prevailing fashion for classically styled architecture and in
comparative levels of ornament or complexity also reflect social standing and status.
Casement windows are seen on many buildings. Alongside timber casements of various
arrangements, they include traditional leaded lights in metal opening casements on ‘Hatters’
or at Red Lion cottage, where they are attractively pointed. Those at Richardson’s Farm look
to be sensitive modern renewals following a traditional pattern. The Gables features
impressive long runs of leaded lights set into the close studding of the timber frame.
Vertical sliding sashes are present on many buildings. They range in number of panes and
arrangements with 2/2 3/6, 6/6, 4/8, 8/8 pattern glazing all seen. Where historic 2/2 sashes
survive they reflect later 19th century advances in glass technology. Multi pane sashes are
appropriate to earlier buildings but also may reflect restoration or replacement to evoke
what might be seen as a more ‘traditional’ aesthetic.
External shutters are not much in evidence though those which remain on Hatters and the
Old House in the village centre are important visual clues to what was probably much more
frequent feature. Brackets and hinges to fix open external shutters are visible on the walls of
The Old Chapel House on Rectory Hill.
Horizontal sliding sashes, often called ‘Yorkshire sashes’ reflecting their frequency in the
north east, are seen at Burnt Oak and also on a property close to Quinton Triangle. This type
of window does not require the complex system of counter weights found in a traditional
sash and can be found in considerably older properties before the vertical sash became the
predominant type.
Several buildings in the conservation area retain much larger windows which hint at former
uses as shops, with the large windows used for display now an architectural clue to lost
former uses.
While the ornamental perpendicular style windows at the Parish Church of St Mary are of
clear high architectural interest, there are several buildings which feature more ornamental
styled windows, particularly with pointed heads or frames.
Doors within the conservation area are similarly varied with examples of old traditional plank
and batten doors to more classically styled doors with a good selection of more ornamental
surrounds on Georgian and Victorian buildings. There are porches and simpler hoods over
entry ways. Some of the Victorian houses at Gaston’s end retain what appear to be historic
porches, though the doors themselves have been replaced.
Boundaries of note and historic interest are represented by fine brick walls, particularly
around the larger properties, or by historic iron railings. Hedges and timber fences are of
lesser note though ecological or biodiversity studies of hedges within the countryside
combined with historic map analysis suggest that many of the hedgerows are ancient
boundaries of historic value.
Figures 67-68: More recent dwellings within the area utilising a red clay pantile.
Windows and doors
2.3 Architectural Character
Boundaries

1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 44

From left 8/8 sashes at Lambe School, window hierarchy in different sashes between ground and first floor; large 2/2 later 19th century sashes Jubilee House; horizontal sliding sashes at Gaston End; 19th century
leaded bay window; modern leaded casements installed at Richardson ’s farm.
2.3 Architectural Character
Figure 69: Windows and doors
From left Former shop window, settled dramatically with age at ‘the Hatters’ in the village centre also with external shutters surviving; a series of classi-
cally styled doors from ornate to much simpler and (right) later paired doors in 19th century cottages with shared hood porch canopy.
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 45

Houses and domestic properties are present at all scales – from the very diminutive small
cottages to much larger properties of the gentry class with accompanying outbuildings,
stables, service ranges and substantial grounds. Stour House and Old Hall include a full
second storey but all other properties, even the larger, are of two storeys with perhaps attic
rooms served by dormer windows.
The congregational Chapel and Church of St Mary alongside the village hall on Gandish Road
are the larger non domestic properties. The Lambe School remains on a very domestic scale.
Barns behind Richardson’s Farm are modern large scale buildings and reflect their ongoing
agricultural uses but are very concealed from the street.
At Flatford the mill building has a considerable footprint and reflects its industrial functions
through its proximity to the water and features such as the overhead loading hoist. The
current brick building is the product of investment and rebuilding by the Constable family
after Abraham Constable (Grandfather to John) purchased the mill in 1742. Rebuilding by
Golding Constable, including the cottages proceeded at the same time as constructing a new
house in the village centre, East Bergholt House.
Figure 70: Flatford Mill
Scale and Massing
2.3 Architectural Character
Figure 71: Stour House a large gentry house in the village core.
Figure 72: Smaller vernacular cottages at Burnt Oak
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 46

East Bergholt contains a substantial number of listed buildings which are, in their statutory
designation, recognised as being of national significance. They are listed in Appendix 2 with
their corresponding locations indicated.
The provisions of Section 1.5 of the Planning (listed buildings and conservation areas) Act
1990 means that other buildings or structures within the curtilage of listed buildings may
also be considered as part of the listed building. This report does not formally quantify the
extent of listing for any of the designated assets within the conservation area, that role is
ultimately for the local authority who determine what type of application may be required.
The following represents a list of buildings and structures which, though not statutorily
designated, are deemed to be positive to the character and appearance of the conservation
area, the location of individual buildings are highlighted on the individual Character area
maps in Chapter 3. In determining what constitutes a ‘positive contributor’ reference has
been made to the check list set out in Historic England’s Guidance on Conservation Area
Designation, this list is:
The guidance acknowledges that most of the buildings within a conservation area help to
shape its character. The extent to which any building or group of buildings might be
considered to be more positive than any others depends on a series of factors, including
historic integrity, particular local associations, and how the building may contribute in three
dimensions within the area as a whole. East Bergholt is a very well maintained village in
terms of the general condition of its structures and spaces whether that be public areas or
private gardens. The following non exhaustive list highlights the buildings, or type of
buildings, which address a greater number of the points in the checklist and which are
considered to make a particularly positive contribution to the area.
Figure 73: The eastern end of the Congregational Chapel, unlisted but a positive
building within the conservation area. Pertaining to its communal value and striking
architectural character
Listed buildings
2.3 Architectural Character
Positive Contributor buildings
1. Is it the work of a particular architect or designer of regional or local note?
2. Does it have landmark quality?
3. Does it reflect a substantial number of other elements in the conservation area in
age, style, materials, form or other characteristics?
4. Does it relate to adjacent designated heritage assets in age, materials or in any
other historically significant way?
5. Does it contribute positively to the setting of adjacent designated heritage assets?
6. Does it contribute to the quality of recognisable spaces including exteriors or open
spaces within a complex of public buildings?
7. Is it associated with a designed landscape, e.g. a significant wall, terracing or a
garden building?
8. Does it individually, or as part of a group, illustrate the development of the
settlement in which it stands?
9. Does it have significant historic associations with features such as the historic road
layout, burgage plots, a town park or a landscape feature?
10. Does it have historic associations with local people or past events?
11. Does it reflect the traditional functional character or former uses in the area?
12. Does its use contribute to the character or appearance of the area?
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 47

Village sign on the Street. This is a local landmark constructed by the last of the village
Blacksmiths Rodney Moss. It depicts the unique Bell Cage but has historic significance in
commemorating and marking the small remnant of the historic village green, which was removed
at enclosure in 1817. Though with a similarly enlarged area to the north it was once the location
for fairs, markets, trade, village gatherings and celebrations its spatial extent is now captured
only in historic maps and some of Constable’s works which captured events taking place on it,
right outside his childhood home, now also lost.
East Bergholt Congregational Chapel, image on the previous page, was constructed in 1856/7.
The only non conformist religious structure within the conservation area and an imposing village
building of polychromatic brickwork. It is experienced alongside the shops and businesses in the
village centre, contributing to the sense of activity here though it is currently closed ad without
use. Historically of interest in reflecting non-conformist worship within the area and community
which was formalised in East Bergholt from 1672. It is likely to have replaced an earlier chapel on
this location, prior to that worship likely took place in members homes to avoid and minimise risk
of persecution. The decorative gable is visible and comparatively prominent from within the
village centre, and certainly from Cemetery Lane where it has imposing scale and character.
Unlisted historic houses at the north end of Gandish Road, at Burnt Oak and at Gaston End
illustrate the presence of early houses on the edge of the heath in satellite settlements away
from the village core, encroaching on the common heath lands. From 1817 onwards, further
houses were added on land enclosed from the former heath. Those historic buildings which are
well preserved and retain historic features such as their original period windows or doors are
identified as positive contributors enabling an ongoing understanding of the clusters of historic
settlement around the heath prior to the larger drives for housing in the 20th century. Where
they survive well their period features, and frequently their proximity to other contemporary
dwellings (including some which are statutorily designated) are of direct illustrative historic value
pertaining to this important phase of the village’s evolution. 1-3 Gandish Road is a good example
of this type, with surviving period features and comparatively focal role at this entry to the
conservation area, particularly from White Horse Road. They are not really ‘landmark’ in their
quality, but are experienced as part of a close group at Burnt Oak reflecting this early settlement
area.
2.3 Architectural Character
Village Sign—1, 8, 9, 12
East Bergholt Congregational Chapel—2, 6, 8, 10, 11, 12
18th/19th century houses—3, 4, 8, 11
Figure 74: The former village green and sign
Figure 75: Nos 1-3 Gandish Road, traditional red brick with gently ‘polite details’
archaeological evidence of former doorways reflecting likely two or three smaller
dwellings
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 48

East Bergholt features a series of six houses and the village’s ’Constable Hall’ all designed by
Raymond Erith in the middle years of the 19th century. There are five houses located on Gandish
Road, four making up a group opposite the village hall, and a fifth called ‘Kells’ located just
around the corner on Rectory Hill. A further house, ‘Pound House’ was constructed in the village
centre and Erith is also recorded as having worked on the interior remodelling of High Trees
Farmhouse, a grade II listed building in Gaston End. These buildings are an important group
reflecting the work of this prominent 20th century classical architect. He lived in Dedham rather
than East Bergholt but had a professional relationship with East Bergholt firm of builders and
joiners W T Wheelers, located to the north on Puttick’s Lane near Heath Road. The houses on
Gandish Road sit well back from the street with mature front gardens and a relatively consistent
build line, they are symmetrical and gently classical, round or arch headed windows are a
particular feature. Photographs of the individual houses by Erith are included at section 3.3.
Flatford lock, dry dock and bridge are not individually listed. They have all been rebuilt or
restored by the National Trust since they acquired the site in the later 20th century. They are
clearly an important part of the group here but because of the degree of restoration and
reconstruction it is possible that they might not be considered to meet the tests of section 1.5(B)
of the Act, and be considered as part of the various listed structures in this area. Nonetheless
they are important positive features that assist in illustrating and telling the story of Flatford and
the Stour Navigation as well as providing a sense of continuity with some of John Constable’s
most renowned paintings.
2.3 Architectural Character
Buildings by Raymond Erith—1, 2, 3, 4, 8 9, 10, 11, 12
Flatford riverine structures—4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12
Figure 77: Flatford Lock looking towards Bridge Cottage the
chimney of which is just visible. On the right, Constable’s 1813
painting ‘Boys Fishing’, (National Trust)
Figure 76: Constable Hall, Gandish Road
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 49

2.3 Summary of Architectural Special interest
• A high concentration of listed buildings give direct illustration of differing traditional and
vernacular building traditions over several centuries.
• The architectural variety of domestic buildings in East Bergholt Village is rich and
interesting and is a key aspect of the village’s architectural character. This applies to
period, materials, though brick is dominant, roof forms, scale. It leads to street scenes
which are interesting and pleasant.
• The fine knapped flintwork and decorative stone of St Mary’s Parish Church is an
architectural, as well as communal, focal point within the village, its early Bell Cage is
similarly important being an early example and the only one in the country where the bells
are rung by direct pressure rather than through a rope system.
• Flatford Mill contributes to architectural special interest in being a large early 18th century
industrial building which retains good evidence of its specific technological aspects within a
well preserved historic building.
• Non designated buildings within the conservation area are also, in general, of good quality
and well preserved with various buildings retaining period windows and doors through to
the present day.
• There is an important group of unlisted 20th century buildings, including the village hall, by
renowned 20th century classical architect Raymond Erith. Though they are not listed, they
are an important collection reflecting the corpus of his work in the middle years of the 20th
century and have important contextual links to his work elsewhere—which includes no. 10
Downing Street. His name results in 391 results on the statutory list reflecting the tenor of
his importance as an architect.

1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

2.4
Setting

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 51

The setting of heritage assets is defined with the National Planning Policy Framework as:
As with many conservation areas, which frequently encompass large areas, an ‘experience’
of it as a whole designated asset is not afforded from any single point, its setting
encompasses the landscape, fields, routes and other areas of housing around the designated
boundary.
Dedham Vale lies to the south and south west, its own importance is reflected in its
identification as a National Landscape (Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty). This landscape
area feeds seamlessly into the southern part of the conservation area across the Stour
where the river flood meadows transition to the undulating hillsides and up into the village
centre. This sense of continuity is a strongly positive element of setting. Not only is there
the time depth of landscape features and natural beauty as protected in the national
landscape, but the paintings of John Constable capture this transition from his home in East
Bergholt, to the river, the mill where his Family worked, to Dedham where he went to school
and the church towers that punctuated the landscape, and the location of the rural life he
captured so poignantly.
A pastoral rural character also survives to the north west, though its character is slightly
different. This area features a series of large individual houses and their associated land,
there are three—Gatton House, Ackworth House and The Lodge —all are listed buildings and
are grouped with associated structures like farm buildings, lodges and stables. This area has
been identified as containing various elements of archaeological interest (during excavation
at Ackworth House) and contributes to the possibility of understanding the fullest time span
of human activity in this area. The A12 follows a Roman route. Ackworth House sits within a
comparatively large estate which has an overtly parkland character, something like that
around Old Hall. It reflects social status and manipulation of the landscape to provide
verdant surroundings to large houses in the 18th and 19th centuries. This landscape
character can be appreciated from Cemetery Lane where views north look towards the
house with mature trees in well maintained pasture in the foreground.
Open landscape also survives to the north and north east of the conservation area where the
flatter open fields of the plateau farmlands has larger squarer fields created from the former
East Bergholt Heath extending from Gandish Road. The area immediately north east of the
Donkey Track, behind and to the north of the Gandish Road Houses has some historic
significance. It was part of the former heath and The Constable family windmill was located
here on high ground above the village, several of Constable’s paintings are in this area—
particularly those that depict the windmill. Its continued lack of development remains
positive and is important in reflecting some sense of the former openness of the Heath.
However, this area has been compromised and eroded in the later part of the 20th century
and in the past 20 years. This has arisen with the construction of new housing along Heath
Road and down towards the Donkey Track; deposition of soil from this development has
changed the form of the land along the Riber Valley; in 2000 a ‘millennium wood’ was
planted in a block leading north east from The Donkey Track, while the trees are now
mature and a pleasant place to walk, any openness of the former heath has been blocked
along with opportunities to look towards the former location of the windmill. All of these
factors limit the degree to which this area of setting is positive to the conservation area,
though it offers opportunities for potential enhancement.
To the north of the conservation area, behind Gaston Road properties, and south of Gaston
End, modern housing dating primarily from the post war period onwards is of an entirely
predictable and unremarkable nature. Though it reflects the growth of the village and the
pressure of growing populations, it has severed the connection between the historic
properties in these areas and the countryside which once would have been immediately
appreciable. This new development is most apparent on the northern side of the Donkey
Track. This expansion of modern housing has directly eroded opportunities to continue to
experience continuity between the historic core of the village and its supporting rural
Figure 78: View from Cemetery Lane towards Ackworth House.

2.4 Setting of the Conservation Area
“The surroundings in which a heritage asset is experienced. Its extent is not
fixed and may change as the asset and its surroundings evolve. Elements of a
setting may make a positive or negative contribution to the significance of an
asset, may affect the ability to appreciate that significance, or may be
neutral” (NPPF, Annex 2, Glossary)
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 52

landscape. Though the land off Donkey Track retains this wider connectivity to the east, past
Gandish Road, on the north, it is curtailed by new housing.
The entrance on Gandish Road is green and verdant with links to open countryside and
mature tree cover creating attractive green ‘tunnels’ of trees on entry into the conservation
area, a similar tunnel is found on Hadleigh Road moving into the conservation area. They
are important in understanding a continuity between the historic core and its rural
surroundings. This impression is also clearly present on the south, where entrances on the
into the conservation area are entirely pedestrian from the public footpath network along
the Stour Valley and along the ancient lanes and tracks leading up from the river.
Beyond Burnt Oak multi phase development has built up on the former heath after enclosure
in 1817 and through the 20th century, slowly connecting Burnt Oak at the edge of the
conservation area with the former ‘Bakers End’ to the east. White Horse Road provides an
approach into the conservation area. Built form here remains broadly linear following
traditional patterns along the roads and on a smaller scale, there are fewer examples of
‘mass’ housebuilding over larger areas.
Where the setting of the conservation area retains a sense of continuity with the open
historic landscape of the earlier periods of East Bergholt’s development, prior to the mass
housing growth of the 20th century, it continues to contribute positively to the historic
values, character and appearance of the conservation area. Open land which retains ancient
field boundaries, lanes, and isolated houses offers an opportunity to approach and
experience the entry to the conservation area positively. Post enclosure, housing in some
areas developed slowly on the former heath closely following the routes with more regular
field subdivisions behind. These areas are generally neutral in terms of experience of
entering and understanding the conservation area. Areas which have seen the creation of
substantial blocks of mass housing separate the historic core of the conservation area from
its historically open surroundings and change the degree of authenticity of approach, the
ability to understand the rural surroundings of East Bergholt in these areas is disrupted by a
completely different pattern of development and growth which is markedly in contrast to the
2.4 Setting of the Conservation Area
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities
North west of the CA; large houses, many individually listed, in semi parkland and
woodland. Retained openness positive to the setting. Evidence of archaeological remains
evocative of earliest human activity in the area. Positive element of setting
New mass housing developments to the north of the CA, dividing historic core from open
landscape. Limiting authenticity of approach into the CA. Negative element.
Land north east of the Donkey Track retains openness but is altered with little authentic of
experience, modern housing remains visible, woodland and eroded opportunity to recognise
the landscape as captured by Constable. Neutral element—opportunity to enhance
Landscape to east of Gandish Road and beyond the upper plateau farmlands, including
linear development along White Horse Road, mix of post enclosure 19th and 20th century
housing and other buildings, reflective of this later history. Neutral element
Riverine landscape and adjacent sloping valley farmlands. Undeveloped, clearly legible
elements of ancient enclosure landscape divisions. National routes offer public access.
Conservation area’s core distant but position of settlements within the valley
understandable. Flatford’s position on the river and its various buildings importantly
experienced from the valley. Strongly positive elements of setting.
Figure 79: The Setting of the Conservation Area.

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 53

2.4 Setting of the Conservation Area
Figure 80: View across north western setting to Ackworth House
Figure 81: White Horse Road looking towards the Conservation Area
Figure 82: Modern housing west of Gaston Street, entering towards Richardson’s Farm
Figure 83: View towards Mill Farmhouse from Millennium Wood, altered former heath.
Figure 84: Post Enclosure fields east of Gandish Road.
Figure 85: View across river valley from footpath west of the Conservation Area
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 54

2.4 Summary of the Contribution of Setting to special interest
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities
• The Dedham Vale which lies to the south of the conservation area has high natural
significance as reflected in its identification as a national landscape. It has similarly high
cultural historic significance linked to the ancient land management patterns encapsulated
here and running seamlessly into the southern edge of the conservation area.
• There is exceptional artistic and historic importance to the setting as captured by John
Constable in his wide landscape views particularly over the Stour valley.
• The open rural landscape to the north west of the conservation area has a strong sense of
historic continuity of land use, particularly in association with a collection of listed buildings
and their settings which retain a strong sense of continuity with the past.
• The setting to the north west is the location of known archaeological potential, particularly
associated with the Roman period and activity along the route of the A12 and is positive to
the potential to gain greater understanding of human activity in the area outside the
conservation area boundaries.
• The setting to the east, beyond Gandish Road and Burnt Oak represents land enclosed from
the open Heath and which has been developed piecemeal since the 19th century along
routes formalised at that time. Though the area is of lesser architectural interest it
preserves a sense of the evolution of the area after that important event, retained open
fields also contribute to an ongoing sense of the rural surroundings which supported the
settlement. Both of these aspects contributes to historic values.
• Constable views over the open land to the north east, around Mill Farmhouse and towards
the historic location of the Constable Family windmill are important but less able to be
appreciated due to more recent changes to land use and including the encroachment of
modern mass housing developments. The historic and artistic links to this area of setting
remain important and striking, the current condition offers potential for enhancement
should the opportunity arise though the continued openness and lack of development
remains positive.
historic form, views are filled with modern mass housing which are of limited innate architectural
interest and pay little reference to the local vernacular or the historic variety present within the
conservation area itself—these areas are negative in terms of the contribution made to the
conservation area. To the north east, and north of the Donkey Track, the opportunity to ’see’
views immortalised in Constable’s works which are much reduced by new housing, removed
features, and new tree blocks. This area might offer opportunity for enhancement to restore a
greater sense of continuity with the past. At present this area is neutral.

2.5
Views

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 56

East Bergholt is an attractive and well maintained settlement. The experience of moving
through the area is, in general, attractive and pleasant. It has developed over time and the
public realm is based on ancient routes established since the medieval era at least. There is
no indication that the village or its buildings have been laid out or positioned with the intent
to create deliberate, specific or framed ‘views’ but incidental views afforded whilst moving
through the area are aesthetically pleasing due to the combination of topography, attractive
well maintained historic buildings, gardens and open spaces.
The positive views identified both in this section and in the following sub character area
chapters are not considered an exhaustive or exclusive selection. Though single points of
view are highlighted on the various maps, alternate positions may be similarly positive or
enable a similar experience. Merely because a single vantage point is highlighted, does not
mean other perspectives are not also positive.
It is important to note here that all vantage points which correlate to views which inspired
specific paintings by John Constable are considered as ‘key’ to the character and appearance
of the conservation area. They are discussed in more detail later in this chapter.
The other positive view points identified fall into the following types:
• Vantage points from which the distinctive and particular character of the individual sub
-areas is particularly notable.
• Viewpoints as part of a moving experience through the character areas and
conservation area as a whole, particularly at boundaries between the different
character areas where contrast may be perceived.
• Vantage points where focal buildings are most strikingly or meaningfully experienced
as part of the wider area or in a group context – these views are not necessarily
related to the specific experience of any single building, but the experience of the
buildings within the area and other groups.
• Vantage points where particular contrast between developed and open space is
important to character, or where there is contrast between areas of more spacious or
open character and areas of greater enclosure and intimacy within the built area. This
may be opportunities to experience and understand the proximity of rural and
agricultural land in context with former or extant farm buildings remains clear, or
where parkland character associated with some of the larger buildings is a distinct
element of an area’s character and history.
The suggested conservation area is large. Opportunities to experience it as a whole are
limited, though broad views from across the Dedham Vale enable an understanding, to a
degree, of the settlement position. Wider landscape views of significance are described and
discussed in full within the Heritage Landscape Appraisal (Heritage Collective 2021).
2.4 Views
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities
Figure 86-87: Positive views along Rectory Hill, they illustrate the particular nature
of settlement running through the core of this sub area, the gentle slopes of the Riber
Valley, large historic houses set comparatively close to the road with spacious
gardens, open greenery and land of the Old Hall estate on one side. This type of view
might be experienced at several points along Rectory Hill as one moves through the
area.

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 57

Within East Bergholt, a critical element of its special and unique character relates to the
landscape, buildings and village scenes which were painted by John Constable over the
course of his life (1776- 1837). These provide a golden thread of internationally special
artistic and historic interest focused on the areas proposed to fall within the conservation
area. Now internationally renowned he is best known for his paintings representing the rural
character of Dedham Vale surrounding East Bergholt. Constable was born in East Bergholt
and it is here that he grew and developed from amateur to iconic artist. During his lifetime
he struggled for recognition and his reputation was perhaps held in higher esteem in France,
where his use of colour in his landscape paintings were considered quite radical for the time
and is thought to have influenced the Impressionists.
In current times however, his work is the highest valued British Art on the international
market, they are of international significance. His paintings Dedham Vale (1820) and The
Haywain (1821), are perhaps the most popular and valuable works of British Art but
examples of all forms of his work are held in prestigious international collections, highly
valued, and highly visited. The painting Dedham Vale with the River Stour in Flood was
rediscovered in a private collection and was valued by Sotheby’s in 2017 with an estimate of
£2-3 million. It was painted from the grounds of the Old Hall in East Bergholt with the view
extending across the Stour towards Dedham. The cultural and artistic association of
Constable with the scenery of East Bergholt, Dedham Vale, the River Stour and Flatford Mill,
is exceptional. The Haywain is one of the most iconic paintings in the history of British Art
and is on permanent display at The National Gallery.
It is difficult to sufficiently emphasise how loved and valued Constable’s work is as
exemplifying this artist’s emotive and skilful rendering of the English Countryside and
pastoral life, his love for this place and landscape, skies, water and the people who occupied
and worked within this area is palpable in his work and opportunities to connect to this are
highly valued by visitors to this area.
The opportunities which remain today, within the conservation area and its surroundings, to
stand at the points where Constable painted, frequently ‘en plein air’ from life, and
experience a landscape which has, in many cases, changed comparatively little offers a
unique perspective and opportunity to gain a real connection to the past and the world as
seen and recorded by one of the countries most beloved landscape artists. The desire to
experience a landscape and perhaps find similar inspiration and emotive response remains a
strong driver for visitors to East Bergholt.
Figure 88: ‘The Haywain’ 1821 (National Gallery)
The Paintings of John Constable
2.4 Views
Figure 89: Scene of the Haywain in summer 2025.

1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 58

Constable’s biographer Charles Leslie wrote of Constable that:
In this way the strand of artistic interest which links Constable to the conservation area is
perhaps unique. He worked specifically to record and reflect the ‘truth’ of the area in which
he lived. Even at that time, it was a place with ancient remains and customs, landscapes on
the brink of change and buildings and occupations shifting through the seasons. Though the
process of change has not stopped since Constable’s time, his artistic output is fascinatingly
linked to capturing the ‘character and appearance’ of his home as well as the day to day
activities of its occupants. This is now part of the evolved character and appearance of the
conservation area.
The East Bergholt Society has compiled a detailed database of the paintings and vantage
points which is an invaluable resource to those interested in understanding the connection
between today’s landscape and village, and Constable’s work. The Historic Landscape Study
undertaken in 2021 also provided a fuller appraisal of Constable’s Paintings. This section
acknowledges and summarises the conclusions of that work recognising the following areas
which fall within the conservation area and where the landscape characteristics which
inspired the artist in the past may still be studied and appreciated in the landscape today.
Obviously, aspects have changed, Constable’s family home, and his father’s windmill on the
Heath have been lost, landscape boundaries have changed and modern features of roads and
houses have been introduced, but other areas retain a degree of verisimilitude which
contributes a major aspect of historic, landscape and artistic value to the special character
and appearance of the conservation area.
A series of key locations which were foci for the painter’s prolific output are summarised in
the remainder of this chapter and readers should refer to the more comprehensive survey
undertaken by the East Bergholt Society. The figures on the following pages identifies these
foci and concentrations—it does not identify all of Constable’s paintings, or the sketches and
studies.
Figure 91-92: ‘the Cornfield’ 1826 (National Gallery’ Constable populated his landscapes with ordinary folk, a shepherd boy drinking
from a stream running down the edge of Fen Lane while his sheep dog waits, a farmer in the distance, a scythe on his shoulder. Fen
lane is a popular walking route today leading down the slope to the river, with a ditch on the left and glimpses through the hedge out to
the countryside beyond.

2.4 Views
“His nature was peculiarly social and could not feel satisfied with scenery, however
grand in itself, that did not abound in human associations. He required villages,
churches, farmhouses and cottages”
Figure 90: ‘extract from ‘”Celebration of the General” 1815, (Budapest
Museum of Art). The villagers gather on the village green, populating this
village scene now lost after Enclosure in 1817.
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 59

2.4 Views
Figure 94-95: Top, the new Fen Bridge.
Below, ’A Bridge over the River Stour’, 1802 V+A
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities
Figure 93: Range of Views captured by Constable (Heritage Collective 2021)

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 60

The Constable Family Windmill: present on the
elevated land of the heath until the mid 19th
century.
The Studio: John Constable’s Studio, purchased
for him by his father early in the 19th century on
realising his son would not abandon his hopes of
being an artist and after he had been admitted to
the Royal Academy Schools in 1799/1800
Burial sites for Golding and Ann Constable
Located in the north eastern corner of the Parish
Church yard
East Bergholt House the former location of
Constable’s family home built in 1774 and removed
in the 1840s, the former stable and coach house
remains.
The house and immediately adjacent land was sold
to a family friend Walter Clarke. It was eventually
pulled down after his death in 1839.
Flatford Mill. Owned and operated by three
generations of the Constable family for a century
between1742 to 1846. It continued to operate as a
mill until the beginning of the 20th century
Figure 97-98: The Constable’s Windmill as depicted on the 1817 Enclosure
map and, right, ‘Spring on East Bergholt Common’ Oil on paper 1814, V+A
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities
Figure 99-100: “East Bergholt Church with tomb of artist’s parents” Pencil
1818. (Private collection, Sir John & Lady Witt) and, right, the scene today
from a slightly different perspective.
Figure 96: Constable family locations
Figure 101-102: (left) Moss Cottage on the left, Constable’s former studio in the
early 19th century and (right) The Court—the former stables and coach house to
East Bergholt House, now a private residence (Images: EBS)
Old Rectory. The home of Rev. Dr. Durand
Rhudde, the grandfather of Maria Bicknell,
Constable’s future wife. They fell in love until 1809
but were unable to marry until 1816 when
Constable’s fortunes improved through the
inheritance from his father.

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 61

East Bergholt Common and Heath was the location of the Constable family windmill, at
which John Constable worked before persuading his father to allow him to pursue a career
as an artist. His time there, regularly watching the wide skies for changes in the weather, is
broadly accepted as having contributed to his skill in depicting the skies and clouds. Views to
and from East Bergholt House, his father’s windmill and towards the Old Rectory took in
gardens, the field boundaries and labourers working the land, different seasons and weather
conditions all of which reflect his deep connection to this area. The romantic undertones of
the paintings and drawings looking over this landscape and towards the Old Rectory in
particular are heightened with knowledge of the history of Constable and his long courtship
to Maria Bicknell, granddaughter to the formidable rector of East Bergholt at that time, Rev.
Rhudde. Paintings from the Donkey Track towards her home, completed while they were
courting take on a particular poignance with knowledge of how long they were forced to stay
apart by social and familial expectation.
There have been various changes which have intruded into and altered the historic
landscape away from the character of the historic situation. Core changes are the loss of the
Constable family windmill, the planting of a millennium wood which has reduced the open
field character north east of the Donkey Track, and the introduction of modern housing and
overhead cabling between the Donkey Track and Heath Road. These have altered the land to
the north of the Donkey Track more considerably than the land to the south, leading to its
exclusion from the current conservation area, there remains an exceptionally strong sense of
continuity between the core compositional elements of Constable’s works in this area and
the landscape today. This is particularly true when walking The Donkey Track and looking
back towards the Rectory and village, away from the modern housing (see comparison
images on the next page).
Figure 104-105: top—’Cottages and Windmill’ 1832 (British Museum collection) and
below, the area of this view n early 2025. enclosed fields retain some sense of the planting
around Mill Farm House in the distance, but the windmill is lost.
East Bergholt Common and the Heath
2.4 Setting and Views
Figure 103: ‘Spring on East Bergholt Common’ 1813, V+A. The Constable family
windmill set on high open common land north and east of the village. Was removed in
the mid 19th century
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 62

In contrast to the area north of the Donkey Track, there remains a far greater sense of
veracity in views looking to the south. Here the gently undulating Riber Valley, mature oaks,
and the belt of trees which encloses the buildings along Rectory Hill—including the Old
Rectory—can all be experienced in ways which remain meaningful in respect of what
Constable saw and sought to capture.

East Bergholt House was constructed by Golding Constable and was John Constable ’s
childhood home and point of continuity throughout his life to the death of his parents. It was
then vacated by the Constable family in 1819 after it had been sold to a family friend,
Walter Clerk. It was not maintained and was eventually pulled down some 20 years later.
Boundary walls, the stables and the front railings remain but it is Constable’s paintings and
drawings of his family home which provide some of the best indications of the artist’s love
for his home and its strong role in his artistic career and inspiration, he declared himself that
‘This place was the origin of my fame’ (1832 inscription to ‘English Landscape’).
Constable depicted not only his own family’s East Bergholt House or views to and from it,
but the surrounding village as a whole. Friendships with local individuals gave him access
into their gardens and grounds (West Lodge now Stour House and Old Hall), as well as the
general village and its buildings. The depiction of all aspects of daily life in his home and
nearby Suffolk countryside and river valleys were critical to his artistic development, in his
own words these local scenes:
East Bergholt House
Figure 107-108: top—view down the Riber Valley towards the Old Rectory, winter 2025; right—’Eat
Bergholt Common, View towards the rectory’ 1813, (The Clerk Art Institute)
Figure 106: View across the land and Riber Valley from The Donkey Track, large skies, mature trees and
the gently undulating landscape.
East Bergholt Common and the Heath
2.4 Setting and Views
The Village Heart: Church, Old Hall, street scenes and
cottages
Figure 109: East Bergholt House. Oil on millboard. 1811 © V&A. The V&A description of
this painting is as follows: “This panoramic view depicts Constable’s birthplace, with East
Bergholt church to the left… Constable recalled with delight the scenes where his ‘ideas of
Landscape were formed’ and ‘the retrospect of those happy days and years’
“…made me a painter, and I am grateful”; “the sound of water escaping from mill
dams etc., willows, old rotten planks, slimy posts, and brickwork, I love such
things”
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 63

There are at least ten studies of the church held by the V+A collections in several different
mediums exhibiting Constable’s range and skill, as well as his practice. There is a high
degree of continuity between the building as drawn and its situation today.
Old Hall was the subject of two commissioned paintings and other works, studies and
sketches building on the collection of works focussed on the other buildings in the village
centre particularly West Lodge (now Stour House) and the Church of St Mary. The park was
also the location for wider views out over Dedham Vale.
There are a number of studies and sketches within the village of the cottages, streets and
spaces as well as specific events (‘Celebration of the General’ 1815; ‘A Village Fair’ 1811).
Though not all of these can be firmly located, they provide invaluable insight into the
character of the village and its buildings at this time. While there are some striking points of
similarity (see ‘East Bergholt Street’, pen and ink sketch 1796-1799, illustrated in section
3.1), in other cases Constable’s paintings are now some of the only records to buildings and
areas lost or significantly altered – not least his depictions of his father’s house, or the
Village Green, eroded at enclosure.
Fen Lane, leading down from Flatford Lane, was a regular walking route for Constable on his
way to school in Dedham but also between his family’s properties at Flatford and in the
village. They include a pleasing combination of intimate secluded country lanes, and the
broader landscape beyond. ‘Fen Lane’, now in the Tate’s collection reflects a landscape still
recognisable today though hedgerows have grown up, and possibly Constable amended his
backgrounds, it is known that he adjusted landscapes, trees, field boundaries in some of his
paintings. The same is true of views along Flatford Lane.
In moving between the buildings and spaces of the village heart out to the countryside the
conservation area has great continuity with what is depicted in Constable’s works.
Views painted looking across the Stour valley both towards Stratford St. Mary, or Dedham,
and back from the valley towards East Bergholt provide insight into the wider landscape
during Constable’s time, similarity between the paintings and todays landscapes enables
connection to his vision with core landmarks such as the church towers in neighbouring
villages providing important fixed landmarks, though it is noted that in several of
Constable’s paintings he appears to have played with these fixed points for the sake of
composition.
The mill was operated by the Constable family for nearly a century. The buildings and river,
locks, boats and workers are common subjects in Constable’s work.
Flatford Mill (scene on a navigable River) is constable’s largest exhibition canvas, dating to
1816 it was the forerunner to the series of ‘six footers’, all focussing on the River Stour and
exhibited from 1819. There is a strong sense of continuity available today between the
riverine landscape and the collection of buildings at Flatford and Constable’s paintings. There
is good public accessibility to lands in the National Trust’s stewardship, and aspects of
interpretation and explanation, enabling an important and meaningful level of access to this
strand of artistic value and character within the conservation area.
Landscape and Agricultural fields
2.4 Setting and Views
Village Lanes
Flatford Mill
Figure 110-111: ’Flatford Mill from the lock’ 1811, Royal
Academy and, below, looking to the mill, across the pond
above Flatford Lock.
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 64

2.4 Views
Figure 115: ‘A view on the Stour’ 1810, John G Johnson, Philadelphia . And a similar view
in the winter of 2025, shallow banks, undulating river, striking trees in silhouette.
Figure 114: ‘East Bergholt Church the archway of the ruined tower’ 1806, pen and watercolour, V+A
Figure 112: ‘Porch of East Bergholt Church’ 1811, V+A with the same view today.
Figure 113: ‘Fen Lane, East Bergholt’ 1817, Tate and the view today, hedgerows have grown up to a
greater degree.
Figure 1: ’Old Hall Park’ 1801 private collection.
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 65

2.4 Summary of the Contribution of Views to special interest
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities
• The paintings of John Constable which are focused on the settlement of East Bergholt,
Flatford Mill and the surrounding landscape of the Dedham vale are of International
significance and importance . This area became known as Constable Country even during
his lifetime and that sense has not diminished over time, in part because of the paintings’
enduring popularity, and the enduring sense of continuity present in today’s Dedham Vale
and East Bergholt.
• The Victoria and Albert museum in their introduction to Constable’s life and work state that
“…by combining the compositional ideas of the old masters of classical landscape with
a naturalistic vision that was entirely his own, Constable would ultimately transform
the genre of landscape painting – in the process shaping the enduring popular image
of the English countryside” (https://www.vam.ac.uk/articles/john-constable-an-
introduction?)
Much of that enduring popular image is focussed on areas within the proposed conservation
area, where the ongoing parallels remain appreciable.
• There is a remarkable sense of continuity between the landscapes and rural scenes he
portrayed and the areas within the conservation area, and parts of its immediate setting.
This provides an unparallelled opportunity for connection between today’s visitors and the
paintings which have come to epitomise the romantic English landscape.
• The associative, historic and artistic values linked to John Constable form a golden thread
that run throughout and across the conservation area
• Constables paintings also enrich opportunities to appreciate and experience other aspects
of the conservation area’s historic interest because they capture so much of ‘ordinary’ life.
They illustrate, and thus enrich our opportunity to understand, aspects of agricultural
livelihood at the turn of the 19th century. He depicts rural workers in fields, the wind and
the water mills which processed crops, and the transportation of rural goods and the men
and horses working along the Stour Navigation.

3.0
Character Areas

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 67

The subsequent sections of this report cover the four identified sub-character areas which
make up the conservation area as a whole. These areas are drawn together by consistent
characteristics either in terms of the spatial arrangements or building type, functions, use
and activity, or by historic association and artistic values. The various areas are illustrated in
detailed character area figures which also identify a series of specific characteristics:
• The position and grade of listed buildings
• Positive contributor buildings
• Opportunity areas
• Important tree lined roads
• Tree Protection Order (TPO) trees (Babergh Mid Suffolk Data)
• Prominent walls
• Key Views.
Key Constable views within each sub-area are highlighted as are the aspects of history,
architecture and character and appearance which are considered to contribute to ‘special
interest’. The sub character areas are:
This sub area represents the commercial heart of the village and extension in a more
domestic character up along Gaston Street and to include the development at Gaston End
which wraps around a retained open area known locally as the Box Iron. Named because of
its shape within Quintons Triangle formed by Quinton Road, Heath Road and Woodgates
Road. Quintons Triangle is clearly shown on the early Brasier map of the heath with a
triangle of tracks which remain legible to this day.
The southern part of this area contains a concentration of commercial, community, retail and
other activity and then becomes predominantly domestic along the length of Gaston Street
and towards Gaston End. The area around the junction between The Street and Cemetery
Lane is where the perception of a village core is clearest. This part of the village is more
dense and tightly developed both in the tightly spaced area. There is a consistent domestic
character with relatively tightly spaced housing though all with gardens and greenery. Areas
of wider spacing or glimpses out to more open ground are fewer.
Figure 116: The Sub Character Areas
1—Village Centre to Gaston End
3.0 Introduction to the Character Areas
1
2
3
4
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 68

The largest sub area extends from the edge of the former heath to the north east, now
marked by the Donkey Track down to the River Stour on the south west and is bisected by
Rectory Hill. Flatford lane also falls within this sub-area. This area features a considerable
amount of open landscape which is epitomised in a very large number of Constable ’s
paintings. It is this concentration which provides the impetus to include this considerable
area of rural landscape as it indelibly links the landscape itself back to the internationally
renowned artistic interest, and the history of Constable and his family. This area also
includes a high proportion of the early ancient enclosed field boundaries, reflecting the
ancient landscape’s form captured in Constable’s works and providing a further sense of
connection between today’s conservation area, the area experienced and recorded by
Constable, and the archaeological remnants of an ancient landscape.
The buildings within this area include the ancient manorial core of Old Hall and the medieval
parish church of St Mary. Beyond that larger, spacious properties, with substantial wooded
gardens are accessed from Rectory Hill and provide a notable contrast to the more tightly
developed settlement areas in adjacent sub areas of the village core or Burnt Oak.
This area encompasses one of the historic peripheral settlements which grew up in the
medieval era to address population pressure on the edge of the common heath land. ‘Burnt
Oak’ features older houses clustered around the cross roads illustrating this ancient outlying
settlement, a further cluster lies to the northern end of Gandish Road marking the entry into
the conservation area.
The space between these outlying historic settlements is built up with a set of mid 20th
century development which generally conform to a consistent character and appearance
even if the individual buildings are not all of note. The houses are generally quite substantial
in size, they are set well back from the roadside, they have mature gardens which
contribute to a sense of verdant entry to the conservation area. This group includes a series
of houses and the village hall all by renowned architect Raymond Erith .
Epitomised in Constable’s paintings with limited modern structural interventions or additions
this area is a distinct hamlet with unique riverine character and core historic buildings that
have a high degree of continuity with the past.
The area derives special interest from archaeological values in remnants of ancient
settlement and a moated site, records and evidence in map and place names for the early
location of a chapel as well as in retained early boundaries that can be recognised from the
Brasier map and which also contribute to the national landscape characterisation.
The presence of the restored lock, bridge and dry dock are important aspects and means by
which the Stour Navigation can be understood and experienced.
An important centre of tourism and visitor activity. Largely managed by National Trust.
Significant links both visually and in public walking routes outwards across the valley into
the rest of the Dedham Vale National Landscape.
4—Flatford Mill
3—Burnt Oak
3.0 Introduction to the Character Areas
2—Constable’s Heartland
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

3.1
Village Centre to Gaston End

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 70

The southern end of this sub area represents the central focus of early settlement and
activity to the west and north west of the church and principal manorial site (Old Hall) which
are located in the adjacent sub-area but which remain a focus for understanding the reason
for early settlement here.
Another important early survival within this area is the triangular pattern of roads at Gaston
End, which retains the open fragment of undeveloped heath land known as The Box Iron.
The Street leading on to Gaston Street between the core and Gaston End features a
collection of historic buildings dating back to the 15th (Commandree/Gothics/Little Gothics)
and 16th century (The Gables, The Lambe School, Richardson ’s Farmhouse) which continue
to enable an understanding of the antiquity of this route and the infill between them over
subsequent centuries—this enables ongoing connection with the historic values of the
conservation area as well as being a collection of very high quality listed buildings.
Development close to the church was comparatively tight knit from early periods with
widening of the streets north west of the church, both including ponds, reflecting early
medieval or post medieval communal ‘village greens’, now almost entirely gone, with only a
small triangle of land bearing the village sign all that is left of the southern village green.
That portion was enclosed in 1817 and taken into the property ownership of the Rev. W.
Deane who constructed the white brick wall visible in the image below around his house
West Lodge, now Stour House.
The road extending northwards, Gaston Street, is now one of the primary routes into and
through the village. Even in the early 19th century this route featured houses, a school and
police station illustrating the extension of village activity along the route.
The area contains the non-conformist chapel, another focus for communal values and
evidence of the religious life of the community. There remains a concentration of shops,
pubs, and other businesses in this area, though even over the course of compiling this
appraisal there has been change and fluctuation.

Figure 117: The Lambe School, founded in 1594 and remaining in public use. The portion on the right is
probably the original with later red brick facades and with an early 19th century expansion to the left.
3.1 Village Centre to Gaston End
The remnant of open land with the pond at ‘The Box Iron’ in Quintons Triangle at Gaston End is
an important area of open land reflecting the early heath in its longstanding lack of arable
cultivation. Fragments of undeveloped and uncultivated former heath are important echoes of
past common land and contextual links between this small area and larger preserved areas along
the Donkey Track are positive to historic and archaeological values even if not directly
intervisible.
The village core reflects the deep longevity of human activity and settlement in the area within its
wide variation of building materials, types and building function. This variety within this core area
is an important aspect of its architectural interest and character. Remnants of various strands of
historic interest are legible in this area from larger farm houses still associated with open land,
through communal interest in public houses, shops, the historic village school, chapels and
multiple houses – all of which enrich our ability to connect to the past human activity which has
shaped the settlement.
Artistic interest in this area is, as with the entirety of the conservation area closely linked to John
Constable and those which focus on the village heart and its buildings. A cluster of his works
relate to the area at the southern end of this character area and just into the adjacent area from
the Church eastwards, most importantly his sketch of his former workshop Rose Cottage (Grade
II listed).
Summary of Special Interest
Historic Summary
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 71

3.1 Village Centre to Gaston End
Figure 118 Sub-Character Area
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 72

This area follows an approximately linear route from the village centre and The Street, along
the broadly straight line of Gaston Street and on until it joins Gaston End and then splits
around Quinton Triangle. Other routes are captured in part where they join in to The Street
or Gaston Street. The street pattern is historic, though with modern characteristics in terms
of road surface and pavement materials and the ubiquitous presence of parked cars,
particularly in the centre. Early widened areas which once formed village greens have been
eroded through enclosure and through the formalisation and resurfacing of the spaces.
There is a pleasing contrast on Gaston Street between the straight and relatively open
southern portion, to a more enclosed, winding and intimate character at the northern end
past Richardson’s Farmhouse.
Plots generally extend back from the routes in comparatively regular rectangular layouts.
Many of these appear to have long lived continuity when tracking back across historic maps.
Higher density in the village core, and more irregular layouts with closely spaced buildings is
distinctive in this concentrated area. A smaller scale of plot division is also notable at the
northern end of Gaston Street, and around Quintons Triangle. The southern end of Gaston
Street has a wider spacing and more spacious feel with distinct glimpses between houses to
mature trees and greenery between and behind buildings.
Boundary definition is mixed. There are examples of timber fencing, metal railings, hedges
and brick walling seen throughout the area. Where hedges or front garden planting
combined with more open railings or fences are seen, these boundaries contribute to a sense
of verdant greenery. Where taller boundary walls are present, particularly around larger
properties they contribute to a sense of enclosure.
In the village centre, where Cemetery Lane meets The Street, there is a concentration of
buildings which rise direct from the rear edge of the pavement, but even here Chapel house
Figure 120: Extract of Brasier’s 1731 Map of East Bergholt, the heath at Gaston End is
sown top right and the position of early houses and buildings marked between the centre
and Gaston End.
Street and Plot Patterns
3.1 Village Centre to Gaston End
Gaston’s End
The Lambe School
Widened areas of village greens,
mainly lost after enclosure.
The Gables and Commandree
Richardson’s Farmhouse
Figure 119: The wide road in the village centre incorporates one of the ancient historic
‘greens’, with a pond further to the north depicted outside The Gables on Brasier’s Map.
Boundaries

1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 73

and the Old Post Office on the west side of The Street and Fountain House to the east have
mature front gardens which draw greenery into the centre.
Moving along Gaston Street to the north, aside from the boundary wall to The Gables, which
defines the junction to Hadleigh Road, all properties begin to be set back from the road with
front gardens. There is a broadly consistent building line but it is not rigid with some houses
set further back, some closer to the road. The Lambe School is almost directly adjacent to
the pavement edge, in contrast to buildings around it. With the combination of building
styles and boundary treatments there is a pleasant variety which avoids monotony and
speaks to the long period over which the road was filled in to its current level of
development.
Though this area contains a focus for the commercial and business uses within the
conservation area, the majority of buildings are domestic with former shops also now in
domestic use and with fewer hints at former uses overly visible within the buildings, though
large windows do sometimes signal past commercial uses.
Houses are represented on a number of social scales, from smaller historic cottages and
terraces as well as mid 20th century bungalows, through medium and substantial free
standing or semi detached houses in relatively generous gardens. This area does not contain
what might be considered ‘gentry’ houses which are instead found in sub areas 2 and 3
Figure 12123: Stuarts formerly known as ‘Tarbin & Jessops’ and above the bay window
and northern elevation when in use as a shop from the mid 20th century above (History
Group: East Bergholt Back in time group)
3.1 Village Centre to Gaston End
Building Types and uses
Figure 124: Hatters in the village centre, 16th century in origin with a likely 18th century
phase. The phrase ’dealer in hats’ is painted on the wall. Large shop window on the left,
with surviving external shutters on two adjacent windows.
Figure 121: View along Gaston street passing Richardson’s Farm where
fences, walls, and hedges provide variety in boundary types and there is a
pleasing amount of greenery.
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 74

though the larger surviving timber framed buildings are at the upper end of social status for
their period and Commandree is the location of one of the former manorial seats.
Public houses are located in both the village centre (The Red Lion currently closed) and
further north in this area which served Gaston’s End (The Carriers’ Arms and The Hare and
Hounds, all within listed buildings).
There is a small collection of shops, cafes and other functions in the village centre. They
occupy both historic and modern properties continuing a sense of activity within the village
core. Historic shops are occasionally recognisable through clues in their structure. Others
have been identified through local accounts and references which provide access and enrich
understanding (Stuarts, GII listed building formerly Tarbin Grocers and Suppliers).
The majority of buildings in this area are two storeys in height. Smaller buildings are present
including the diminutive cottages of Hatters and the Old House in the centre pictured above,
and a series of bungalows added in the post war period at the northern end of Gaston Street.
Bungalows and single storey or storey and a half buildings are also more prevalent on the
southern side of Quinton’s triangle.
Buildings of both single or two storeys may have rooms in the roof indicated with dormer
windows or skylights. Heights are varied, particularly where differing building traditions were
governed by vernacular material characteristics and properties, or more standardised or
modern materials. Contrasting heights between a smaller two storey Victorian Cottage, or a
modern house governed by building regulations or guidance reflect differing periods of
development as well as variety in the architectural styles present.
This part of the village is particularly distinctive in the variety of materials which can be
found making up its buildings. There are a series of striking timber framed buildings which
retain externally expressed traditional timber framing (Chaplin’s, Richardson’s Farmhouse
and Stuarts) within the area and many others are rendered but with distinct characteristics
of a traditional timber frame. Several of the listed buildings are identified as having timber
framed cores behind later facades.
Brick makes up the primary solid mass construction type but there is a huge range in colour
variety from white, yellow or buff through to warmer red orange tones. Contrasting colour
brickwork is sometimes used around openings or on corners. Flemish bond is the most
frequent traditional bond, though more recent houses exhibit less variety and utilise
Figure 125: Commandree/Gothics/Little Gothics (Graham Reed, EBS) . One of the larger
and earlier houses within the sub-area dating to the Fifteenth Century, now divided into
three.
Building Scale and Massing
3.1 Village Centre to Gaston End
Materials and Details
Figure 126: One of the larger modern houses constructed on Gaston Street, maintaining a
good set back and well tended garden.
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 75

stretcher bond. Several houses are rendered, or have painted facades with white, cream or
pinkish colours predominating.
Roof forms are similarly varied and there is little sense of a single dominant ‘type’ though
throughout this character area roofs meet the facades with overhanging eaves, there are no
incidences of houses with roofs concealed behind parapets. There are hipped forms and
examples of half-hips, shallow Georgian slopes, and a wide variety of steeper pitches,
gambrel roofs are seen on the old smaller cottages in the centre, and at Gaston’s End. As
previously mentioned attic accommodation is clear through dormer windows which might
appear on all slopes, and be either pitched or flat. Roofing materials are generally a mix of
local clay tile, or slate, particularly on the shallow roofed Georgian buildings. A single
thatched building is found at Quintons by Gaston End and modern houses feature concrete
tiles and some rippled pantiles.
The Box Iron is an important open space, though in private ownership with no public access.
It represents a core early stage in the village’s evolution and contributes to historic and
archaeological values within the area as well as being an important remnant of the ancient
Heath.
The remnant of the rest of this open triangle of former heath land is also retained where
Quinton Road splits from Heath Road, the quality of this space is comparatively poor and
overgrown with a set of damaged iron railings but it remains visually somewhat open and
green. The tree cover screens the later houses which have been built up on the triangle of
former heath land.
The cemetery represents a formal space with public pathways and some public access
connected into the centre of the village via Cemetery Lane and across a meadow to the
village public car park.
Further publicly accessible but private land like public house gardens and the allotment
gardens south of the Hare and Hounds or north of the main church yard, create some sense
of space and contribute to a sense of activity within the village. The allotment gardens were
once much more extensive, they remain a positive public resource.
Private gardens, particularly of the larger houses, make an important contribution to the
sense of greenery and openness even within the core of the village. Mature trees are
predominantly within private gardens, but are very important to the character of this area
softening built forms, providing variety in street scenes.
The following page illustrates some of the key views within this sub area. There are some
areas captured by Constable but by and large, these views are important more for the way
that they enable an experience of this part of the village which is rich in variety, building
forms, materials and periods.
Public Realm, open spaces, trees/green landscape
3.1 Village Centre to Gaston End
Figure 127: the southern corner of Quintons Triangle where trees and
scrubby grass screen encroachment of this former area of Heath.
Figure 128: mature oak in the pub garden of the Hare and
Hounds, the allotments behind add to the spaciousness here.
Figure 129: The contribution of private gardens along Gaston
Street to a sense of openness within the area.

1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 76

In the centre, there is a detailed sketch by Constable where several of the building forms
remain appreciable today. At the end of Cemetery Lane a sunset view is reportedly cut from
a larger painting, though this has not been identified (EBS), the character of this view is
very close to what can be experienced today following the footpath on from Cemetery Lane
and up above Vale Farm (see below).
Long views along the straight length of Gaston Street are attractive incorporating buildings
of multiple periods, forms and materials. There are contrasting views where the shift
between straight and open and more enclosed and winding is experienced in the centre of
this street north of Richardson’s Farm.
The view on entering the conservation area along Elm Road where the mature trees and
striking timber framed building at Richardson’s Farm signals arrival in the historic area of
settlement.
Views into and past the Box Iron, particularly from Quinton Street where a concentration of
historic buildings, listed and unlisted in combination with this open land create a positive
experience.
Views at Hadleigh Road where the tall enclosing wall around The Gables leads into a wooded
tree tunnel just beyond the conservation area boundary, providing an attractive and rural
entry even though modern housing is appreciable here as well.
There are 43 listed buildings within this sub-area, they are all included in appendix 2. The
majority are listed Grade II; Chaplin’s towards Gaston End and The Gables at the entry to
Hadleigh Road are both Grade II*. The listed buildings are concentrated in the southern end
of the area around the village centre and at Gaston End, but with a regular distribution of
listed buildings, all of which pre-date the 20th century, along Gaston Street and at Gaston
End which indicates the historic nature of these routes. Though some properties have
individually listed boundary walls or railings, it is noted that the provisions of Section 1.5(b)
Audit of Heritage Assets
3.1 Village Centre to Gaston End
Positive Views
Figure 133: Pound House, designed by Raymond Erith and with the group of
contemporary buildings at Gandish Road an important set of positive contributors
within the wider area
Figure 131-132: Top: ‘Autumnal Sunset’ 1812 (V+A) A loose sketch said to possibly have been cut
from a larger painting. Below: closely comparable view of the landscape above Vale Farm, west of Cem-
etery Lane where the above painting is located.
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 77

Positive Views
3.1 Village Centre to Gaston End
Figure 142: View from centre out along Hadleigh Road, tall
wall of The Gables a striking feature on the left.
Figure 139: Long views along the straight section of
Gandish Road are positive in both directions.
Figure 140: View along Quinton Street past the Box Iron to
Quintons House and Cottage which terminate the view.
Figure 143: Entry to the conservation area towards
Richardson’s Farm from Elm Road
Figure 137: Enclosed view along Cemetery Lane.
Figure 134-135: ‘East Bergholt Street’, Pen and
Watercolour, 1796-1799, V&A and contemporary view today.
The gambrel roof on the left remains, as does the gabled
Figure 136: enclosed entry to Cemetery Lane with the
striking gable of the Congregational Church, close building
lines provide contrast to openness beyond.
Figure 138: At the end of Cemetery lane a striking view out
over the vale towards Dedham Church tower.
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 78

of the Act may well extend the protection of the main listed building to associated ancillary
structures in the curtilage of the listed buildings.
Many of un-listed buildings within this area certainly contribute positively to the area where
their exteriors retain a strong degree of period integrity, irrespective of what age they are,
and a good degree of survival with limited alteration. Other buildings which have particular
links to local notable personages or specific East Bergholt events or functions are also
considered of local interest.
Pound House in the centre is one of a collection of houses by architect Raymond Erith, the
majority are focussed to the east in the Burnt Oak Character Area. This sub area also has
links to two other illustrators and authors who lived here in the early 20th century. Edward
Ardizzoni 1900-1979, cartoonist, official war artist 1940-1946 and illustrator of more than
170 books spent some of his childhood in the house called ‘Gothics’ (EBS). The neighbouring
house, Short Acre, was the home to Lady Ryan the grandmother of John Ryan author of the
Captain Pugwash series.
The Congregational Church and Red Lion Public House are large buildings in the village
centre, the steep gable of the Congregational Church, though back a little way from the
main road offers a visual focal point. Richardson’s Farm House with its striking evergreens
outside and alignment make it focal on entering the village from Elm Lane. At Gaston End
The Hermitage faces across the relatively open junction between Quintons Road and Heath
Road and with its gables is a notable feature at this end of the character area. Quintons
3.1 Village Centre to Gaston End
Figure 1: The Hermitage, Quintons Road.
Figure 144-145: Mural in the garage of Short Acre by John Ryan, creator of the cheerful
childhood character Captain Pugwash.
Figure 146: Jubilee House, one of the later 19th century additions on the western
side of Gandish Road, unlisted but with surviving period sash windows and
ornamental brickwork rendering it a positive contributor to the area.
Figure 147: Victorian houses on the southern edge of
Quinton Triangle, late 19th century additions retaining some
period features including windows.
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 79

House and Cottage terminate the view moving north along Quintons Road and with
peripheral views to older properties to the west offers an historic focal structure in
conjunction with the open area of the Box Iron.
There is a lack of fully public open space within the village core. This renders the ‘borrowed’
sense of space which is provided by large gardens or open land in private ownership which
might be experienced from the public domain as sensitive to further change. Further
development and encroachment, particularly the loss of front gardens, or removal of mature
trees, would erode the sense of rural character which remains in this area despite the
relative density of historic development.
There are few truly detracting buildings or features in this area. The empty and boarded up
Chaplains/Gascoigne cottage is ostensibly in decline and in need of investment. Loss of
garden space and paving over of front gardens for parking to the post war houses on
Woodgate Road has slightly lessened the sense of rural village character leading to the
immediate setting of the conservation area here becoming more suburban. Removal of front
boundaries to facilitate on site parking within properties should be considered very carefully
and avoided where this would erode the sense of village and green character along streets
both within and immediately outside the conservation area.
The car parking area at The Carriers Arms is non descript, extensive and in comparison to
the rest of the area distinctly unattractive. Historic maps show clearly the erosion of historic
boundaries, potentially walls or hedges. The building is listed, its current setting is poor
quality both in terms of its immediate surroundings and the wider contribution to the
conservation area.
Encouragement and education should be given to all residents in order to secure sensitive
adaptation or improvement to private dwellings in keeping with the character and
appearance of the conservation area and the specific period of any individual dwelling.
Making the design code familiar to all will avoid the introduction of poor quality materials or
fixtures (uPVC windows, low quality boundary treatments).
Figure 149: Non descript car parking at the Carriers Arms, historic
boundaries shown on historic maps have been eroded leaving this listed
building in a poor quality setting
Figure 148: Chaplains and Gasgoines Cottage, a listed building in poor
condition, summer 2025
Issues and opportunities
3.1 Village Centre to Gaston End
Figure 150: The loss of front gardens to provide additional
car parking, as here on Woodgates Road on the boundary of
the conservation area, may remove cars from the streets
themselves but risks loss of greenery and screening, which
are generally positive features.
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

3.2
Constable’s Heartland

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 81

This sub area includes substantial swathes of largely undeveloped land to either side of a
sequence of large properties which line Rectory Hill. In the western edge it includes the
early core of settlement focus in the former principal manorial site of Old Hall, which went
from ancient manor, through 18th century country house with expanded parkland at the
point of enclosure, through to a religious then secular community in the later 19th and 20th
centuries. Its prominent built form in the village centre, with large associated grounds and
gardens is a significant focus for the history of the village.
Figure 151: The Donkey Track at the northern edge of this area
Summary History
3.2 Constable’s Heartland
This area is of particular, indeed international, historic and artistic value because of the
connection to John Constable, his artwork and family life. This central area holds a concentration
of viewpoints painted and sketched by Constable extending from the high point of the heath
through the core of the village around Old Hall and the Church, down to the intimate sunken
lanes of Flatford and Fen Lane and wider views over the Dedham Vale. Despite new housing
intruding into the setting of the area to the north this area holds a remarkable sense of continuity
between the views available today, and those captured in Constable’s work. Though two key
buildings linked to Constable have been lost (his own family home and his father’s windmill on
the heath) there remains a strong sense of historic integrity and opportunity to connect with the
landscape and buildings which inspired Constable’s unique approach to landscape painting and
more widely the Romantic period as a whole.
The Parish Church and its unique bell chamber are significant buildings reflecting the wealth of
the Parish during the medieval period fuelled by the wool and woollen fabric trade. The Constable
family memorial stones are within the graveyard.
Old Hall is the focus of the principal medieval manor within the Parish, though the building was
rebuilt in the 18th and 19th centuries, it retains substantial areas of land which maintain a sense
of parkland and secure its central role in illustrating the history of the settlement.
This area retains the small fragment of the former green just outside of Stour House as well as
the widened area of road to the east of the Parish Church. These areas are remnant reflections of
open spaces once used for communal gatherings, markets and fairs important to the settlements
history. Though their character has changed the building alignments around these spaces enables
ongoing understanding of the more ancient village layout and form archaeological clues in the
settlement morphology to earlier times prior to enclosure.
The limited degree of change or modern introductions along Rectory Hill provide a characterful
and historically rich opportunity to gain a sense of this sub-area in the past.
Summary of Special Interest
Figure 152: ‘Clouds’ 1821 Ferens Art Gallery, the large skies and mobile active cloud
scenes are thought to have been inspired by Constables time on the heath and area of
the Donkey Track where the skies remain wide, open and dynamic in todays views.
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 82

3.2 Constable’s Heartland
Figure 153: Sub Character Area key features
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 83

This area also contains the Parish Church of St Mary the Virgin, another focus of community
activity and sprit since the 14th century. This focus of historic settlement blends closely with
the village heart in the previous sub-character area
Rectory Hill is the main route through this area and is depicted on the Brasier Map linking
the village centre to the satellite hamlet of Burnt Oak, much as Gaston Street extended from
the village core to Gaston’s End. This route has remained consistent with little change since
then with large free standing houses which maintain a sense of spaciousness. The open land
on either side of Rectory Hill had already been enclosed in more ancient times and the
remnants of the historic ancient enclosures still legible in field boundaries is an important
connection to past human activities and overlapping links to the Dedham Vale National
Landscape. At enclosure the most notable effect in this area was the reduction in the village
green, giving greater privacy and front garden to Stour House, which once directly fronted
on to the green.
This area contained the family home of the Constable family from the later 18th century and.
John Constable spent much of his time painting this area, and the views across the northern
half of this area towards the Old Rectory as this is where he cemented his relationship with
Maria Bicknell, granddaughter of Dr Rhudde who owned the Old Rectory during this period.
There has been little change in this central area through the 20th century, aside from the
addition of a few individual houses. The setting of this area to the north has seen more
recent expansions of housing to the north but elsewhere there are remarkably few newer
houses and the historic nature of the landscape, routes, and main historic buildings are
clearly appreciable to this day.
Figure 155: ‘Golding Constable’s Garden’ 1815, Ipswich Museum. The elevated viewpoint
suggests the artist is on an upper floor of his family home, a view not possible today as the house
was removed.
3.2 Constable’s Heartland
Figure 154: Looking towards Stour House where the red brick
wall along the drive represents the older alignment and the newer
white brick wall and hedge reflects land claimed after 1817.
Figure 156: ‘Looking east across the land behind Constable’s former home, the trees on the far
right are at the Old Rectory.
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 84

This area features Rectory Hill as the primary road through the area, Flatford Lane, Fen Lane
and Flatford Mill Lane as secondary much smaller rural routes and which form important
elements of the ancient enclosed landscape, Fen Lane and Flatford Mill Lane in particularly
being partly sunken in their nature.
The residential plot patterns vary quite considerably but include the larger properties within
the conservation area that take in substantial amounts of land, and contain mature trees
and areas of parkland character (Old Hall, Stour House and at The Old Rectory). On the
western side of the area, towards the village core, houses are set more closely together,
some rising directly from the street and here this greater density transitions smoothly into
the adjacent village centre sub character area.
The church yard is a core communal area with places to rest, an important collection of
monuments and buildings including the Bell Cage and the burial memorial to Golding and
Ann Constable.
Boundaries within the rural parts of the area are generally hedges. Within the built up area
along Rectory Hill hedges become distinctly more formalised in contrast with the rural
boundaries seen in the countryside areas. Areas of estate fencing or railings are found within
Old Hall and along some parts of Rectory Hill.
Figure 157-159: Top: ‘Dedham Vale morning’ 1811, Private Collection. Middle :
view from just off Flatford lane looking towards Dedham. Bottom: View along Flatford
Lane looking towards Dedham, the hedges are more dense with only glimpses out.
3.2 Constable’s Heartland
Street and plot patterns
Figure 160: Constable Family memorial stones in the far corner of the
church yard, the roof of the bell chamber visible on the right.
Boundaries
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 85

Boundary walls in brick become more frequent towards the village core, the white brick wall
with recessed panels defining the boundary to Stour House from Flatford Lane is particularly
prominent and lengthy. The church yard is raised up behind a low brick wall much aged with
a round tile coping and railings, other properties along Rectory Hill feature individual
stretches – the walls are interspersed with hedges so the character is varied. The low wall
and 18th century railings to Constable’s family home are listed in their own right.
The Church of St Mary the Virgin is the primary non residential structure, and a focal point
for the whole conservation area.
Elsewhere in the area the buildings are almost exclusively residential at the upper social
scale, though some smaller houses are present. Old Hall, is still fundamentally residential
albeit for a community rather than an individual family. It and other larger properties also
come with associated outbuildings and ancillary structures within individual properties,
several of which are visible from the road, particularly at Old Hall where the rear of ancillary
ranges back onto the street providing a sense of enclosure.
3.2 Constable’s Heartland
Building Types and Uses
Figure 161: Looking east over the shallow Riber Valley from the footpath following
adjacent to Flatford Lane, hedges and rural fencing characterise the boundaries.
Figure 162: Low church wall with historic railings.
Figure 163-164: Top East Bergholt Church and war memorial from the head of Flat-
ford Lane. Below: ’East Bergholt Church, the exterior from the South west’ 1797. Pen
and watercolour. V+A
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 86

This sub area contains the larger properties in the area including the church, Stour House
and Old Hall as the largest. Despite larger footprints and scale of these specific buildings,
two storeys remains the predominant building height.
The general character of this area is of comparatively large buildings in widely spaced
surroundings. There are smaller properties set in terraces, or small more closely spaced
groups on Church Plain, at Rectory Hill Cottage and St Mary’s Cottage, and Gissings and
Dairy Farm Cottage.
Brick is the core building material and features in buildings of all periods as well as in
boundary walls. Render or painted brick is also relatively regular. Several of the listed
buildings in this area are described as timber framed at their core but this is not a visual
characteristic of the architecture in this area, it is present in the 15th century Bell Cage in
the church yard.
The church’s flint walls and stone detailing is highly significant and a prominent contrast to
the prevailing brick and render.
Sash windows predominate, reflecting the 18th century period of many of these buildings as
well as the comparatively higher status of the dwellings, casements are found in the smaller
cottages and houses. Similarly the 18th and 19th century larger houses feature a selection
of classically styled door cases and generally symmetrical formal facades.
Aside from the highly ornamental decorative style of the church, the 19th century
conventual ranges of Old Hall exhibit some polychrome decorative façade treatment a statue
and iron cross above the entrances reflecting the religious history of the building. Decorative
barge boards ornament the gables of Robertsons Cottages.
This area includes both open countryside and areas of housing and settlement along Rectory
Hill. Because of the mature planting within private gardens and grounds of the Rectory Hill
properties there is a notably rural feel with many of the buildings well screened such that
from the Donkey Track, there is no real view to individual buildings in this area and there is
a sense of continuous countryside unless you are directly on Rectory Hill where the buildings
are visible and accessed.
The public realm is relatively standard in terms of spaces on the highway. Two areas of
parking are present either side of the Church of St Mary the Virgin, both on areas of former
village green, now much reduced in area and altered with modern finish and strong visual
presence of cars. The area to the east, known as Church Plain has seen the loss of trees,
and a former house on the western end so that today the church yard is more open to this
approach from the east
Building Scale and Massing
3.2 Constable’s Heartland
Figure 165: Old Hall from the area east of the church
Figure 166: Stour House, formerly West Lodge in Constable’s time. Figure 167: Smaller cottages west of the church, dated 1896
above door.
Materials and details
Public Realm, open spaces, and trees/green landscape
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 87

Figure 168: One of three modern houses on Rectory Hill, neutral in
many ways but perpetuating the general pattern of development in
this area
Figure 169: The area known as Church Plain, once featuring more
trees, and an additional house behind the photographer.
Figure 170: Smaller houses looking over the former
village green and marking the entry into the adjacent
sub-area the village core transitioning to a generally
smaller building scale
Figure 171: Classical detailing on The Old
Chapel House which includes remnant hooks for
once external shutters, a fine door case and 6/6
sash windows with splayed window heads
Figure 172: Material richness in the area from brick of various dates and colours through to
the striking stone and flintwork of the Church.
Figure 173: Public access to the countryside
via the network of public footpaths, here
through dappled shade of mature boundaries to
sunken trackway at the lower end of Fen Lane
3.2 Constable’s Heartland
Materials and details
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 88

The church yard of St Mary the Virgin is the most significant open space within the core
other than the countryside itself where access via the network of public footpaths is are well
used.
The rural landscape which retains ancient boundaries and a strong sense of continuity with
that painted by John Constable is the most important aspect of open space in this area. It is
accessed by way of public footpaths and lanes. This sub area encompasses all three of the
landscape character areas identified in the Historic Landscape Appraisal from River
meadowlands, up the rolling valley farmlands and onto the plateau farmlands. What draws
them together in this character area is the artistic works of John Constable which spans all
three and which, with the comparatively small degree of more recent change, remain clearly
understandable.
This area contains a core concentration of vantage points captured in the artistic out put of
John Constable (see Appendix 3 and Section 2.5). Each of the viewpoints which he drew or
painted are considered key, particularly where their continuity to the situation today remains
recognisable and they are strongly positive aspects of the conservation area’s character,
historic and artistic values. View points within the public domain have good accessibility to a
wide range of visitors, ensuring their legacy can be widely experienced.
The East Bergholt Society Website locates images on a base map enabling at a glance an
understanding of the concentration of Constable’s paintings within this area:
• 15 artworks are located on the higher ground around The Donkey Track, these
include some in the setting of the conservation area around the Constable Family
windmill, and some more closely located behind the Old Rectory as well as the
broad views across the Riber Valley (see next page).
• 52 artworks are identified in a tight cluster at the north western end of Flatford
Lane, around Old Hall, St Mary’s Church, Stour House the village green and the
location of Golding Constable’s house.
• 18 artworks are located in the south western area on the valley slopes, along
Flatford and Fen Lanes and along the Stour including a series of studies for the
Six footer ‘The Leaping Horse’ (1819, Royal Academy)
These views extend throughout this character area and it is this concentration which forms
such a strong aspect of the proposed conservation area’s unique character, appearance and
special interest. The cultural contribution of Constable’s work is acknowledged in the National
Landscape designation but the conservation area takes it beyond a focus on the natural
features which remain (river, hedgerows, trees) and extends protection to elements which
directly reflect and illustrate the historic interest embodied in structures and spaces captured
in Constable’s artistic output as well as the illustration of the functional historic livelihoods
undertaken in these areas on both rural fields, lanes and the Stour Navigation.
Key Views
3.2 Constable’s Heartland
Figure 174-175: East Bergholt Church from the south west’ 1817 Durban Museum of
Arts, South Africa
Figure 176-177: The Leaping Horse ‘ 1825, Royal Academy. One of the ‘six footers’ and, right, compara-
ble scene on the Stour in winter, the flexible stems of riverside willows captured in both.
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 89

Constable views across the Riber Valley, then and now
Figure 178: (left) ‘East Bergholt’ 1813, Yale
(right) The view today across the Riber valley. The view across the
fields from the Donkey Track towards the dense trees around the
Old Rectory were a subject much returned to by Constable, and
one where the sense of connection to today’s landscape remains
strong.
Figure 179: (left) ‘East Bergholt‘ 1808, Fitzwilliam
Museum
(right) View from the Donkey Track today
Figure 180: (left) ‘Evening Landscape’ 1828, Yale.
(right) the view today at evening.
3.2 Constable’s Heartland
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 90

Figure 181-182: Cottage at East Bergholt, a little known small painting
with no firm date, believed to be looking east from around the church
yard
View today from the churchyard toward ‘Church Plain’.
3.2 Constable’s Heartland
Figure 183-184: ‘The Lane from East Bergholt to Flatford’ 1812,
Museso Lazaro, Madrid
Flatford Lane today, close to Gosnall’s Farm above Flatford, more
enclosed with trees and hedges than as shown by Constable.
Figure 185-186: ‘Stour Valley with the Church of Dedham’ 1814,
Boston Museum of Art
View towards Dedham over the valley, after harvest summer 2025, the
church tower is visible in the right hand side in the trees
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 91

Audit of Heritage Assets
The area contains 20 listed buildings but some of these are the among most significant
structures in the village including the Grade I church of St Mary the Virgin and its Grade I
listed Bell Cage. Church Gate House is listed Grade II* and all others are grade II. The
importance of the listed buildings in statutory terms is reflected in their contribution to the
conservation area, particularly the church as a focal communal building and core of the
historic settlement alongside Old Hall.
Despite the lower grade assigned on the statutory list some of these structures have
particularly important historic links to John Constable or the story of East Bergholt as a
whole: Old Hall the ancient manorial focus of the settlement and Stour House were both
much painted by Constable; The Old Rectory was home to Rev. Rhudde, Maria Bicknell ’s
grandfather; railings to East Bergholt House (Constable’s childhood home) and the former
stable range now called ‘The Court’ represent the only structural survivals from the artist’s
childhood home. Constable’s parents have their burial monument within the church yard.
The war memorial in conjunction with the church offers important communal and
commemorative focus within the area.
Gissings and Dairy Farm Cottage are both listed, but are also particularly prominent when
moving through the area on Rectory Hill as the first buildings seen on the street after
passing through the striking green wooded character of the eastern end of this street.
The only unlisted building surviving to a good degree which pre-dates the 20th century is
Hill House. This likely 19th century addition with inscribed lintels over the traditional sashes
is a positive contributor to the area. It is also associated with author and journalist Paul
Jennings who lived here for many years until his death in 1989 (EBS).
The recent encroachment of modern housing to the north of Donkey Track is visually and
physically intrusive on this important area of landscape with core links to John Constable’s
work. All the areas within the conservation area boundary are considered of high landscape
sensitivity (Historic Landscape Appraisal 2021, Fig 5.3). Ongoing housing development of
this type and in this open area presents a distinct risk of further erosion of heritage values
through detrimental effects in the setting of the conservation area, particularly artistic and
historic values linked to the current sense of continuity between todays landscape and that
which inspired Constable’s work.
The former windmill site is used for general storage, there is little to no ability to understand
or experience how it is important to the history of the village and Constable’s work.
Connection between the fields around the former windmill site, Mill Farm and the Donkey
Track has been partly lessened with the planting of Millenium Wood which although
undoubtedly ecologically valuable, has reduced the historic openness captured in
Constable’s paintings of this area. The loss of the windmill occurred many years ago. Further
erosion of the legibility of the historic landscape character might arise through additional
tree growth or potential further development of housing at present, it remains open and
undeveloped and has potential for enhancement or greater opportunities to explain and set
out its historic value.
The junction around the war memorial features some rather unassuming plain fencing
around a sub-station, informally used for posters. In combination with necessary signage
blocking entry to Flatford Lane from this direction, the view from the church yard is rather
cluttered with the standardised modern utilities and highways fixtures contrasting with the
highly significant heritage structures. A similarly blunt utility marker has recently been
installed at the head of Fen Lane with seemingly little regard to restoration of the verge.
The sewage works are located in the land south of Rectory Hill, a public footpath runs close
by. Though the nature of the site is necessary it is innately unattractive. It is, however,
relatively well screened by woodland and is not prominent.
Flatford Lane is a narrow rural route—part of its charm and positive character but also one
which comes with risks, particularly in the potential for conflict between pedestrians and
vehicles. It has a one way system in place which assists in alleviating safety issues but ad
hoc parking on the lane presents some small issue both in terms of potential road safety but
also in the opportunities to experience this as a very unaltered route, where the past
character can be disrupted with the visual presence of cars. Benches on the route form
welcome dwelling points for pedestrians, but standardised bins for rubbish or dog waste are
not visually attractive or subtle.
Issues and Opportunities
Figure 187: Positive contributor Hill house (EBS)
3.2 Constable’s Heartland
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

3.3
Burnt Oak and Gandish Road

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 93

Burnt Oak represents a small cross roads hamlet historically on the western edge of the East
Bergholt Heath and at the eastern end of Rectory Hill which connects it to the village centre.
It is first recorded in historic documents in 1384 as ’brendhok’ and retains at least two
buildings dating back to the 16th century reflecting the antiquity of settlement here. The
curving route of Gandish Road is also discernible on the early Brasier map of 1733 and was
little altered at the point of enclosure (Figure ). In 1754 the parish purchased The Town
House to act as a poor house—commonly found on the outskirts of settlements as this area
would have been in relation to the main village at this time.
A cluster of buildings towards the northern end of the road reflect further early development
on the edge of the heath and remained the only buildings in this area until the 20th century.
The Town House was originally cottages but in 1654 was purchased by the Parish Overseers
to house the poor, though this is not necessarily overt in its appearance this adds important
historic interest and some communal value.
Gandish Road did not see infill or additional housing added over the course of the 19th
century which instead developed along the eastern route, White Horse Road, now outside the
conservation area.
Figure 188: Recent drone photograph of the Burnt Oak area with the curved route of Gandish Road up to
the cluster of 19th century buildings on the far right and with the mature trees around Burnt Oak house in
the bottom left. White horse Road extending to the east is identified. Historic Summary
3.3 Burnt Oak and Gandish Road
Burnt Oak is one of the satellite settlements which developed around and on the periphery of East
Bergholt Heath. Clusters of historic buildings at Burnt Oak which can be experienced together
enable an experience of this historic focus of human settlement reflecting the oldest layout and
distribution of human habitation.
A similar cluster of buildings to the northern end of Gandish Road at the entry to the
Conservation Area here is similarly reflective along with the route of Gandish Road itself which
follows an early track across the Heath.
The entry point to the public right of way known as The Donkey Track is recorded on the Brasier
map as ‘Gandish Stile’ it remains in the same location and reflects the longevity of this as a route.
Important architectural value derived from association with architect Raymond Erith and an
important group of buildings designed by him including seven houses and the village hall. There
are contextual links between this group and other buildings in East Bergholt and the wider area
where he lived and worked as well as with internationally well know buildings such as No. 10
Downing Street, for which he was the architect.
Summary of Special Interest
The Donkey Track
White horse Road
Figure 189: Extract from the 1733 Brasier Map of the heath, Burnt Oak to the lower left, Gandish Stile
marked half way along, and the collections of buildings on the edge of the heath indicated in pink, the
curved route of today’s Gandish road has moved closer to the houses, but remains eminently comparable
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 94

1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities
3.3 Burnt Oak and Gandish Road
Figure 190 Sub-Character Area
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 95

Gandish Road did however see development from the early 20th century and is the location
of a collection of buildings by the architect Raymond Erith. Erith moved to nearby Dedham in
1936 and though he paused in architectural practice during the second world war he
returned very shortly after and continued to live and work in the area even when his
commissions took him further afield. He developed a regular working relationship with a local
firm of builders and joiners W T Wheelers who had a workshop and timber yard north of
Heath Road (still present and occupied by Suffolk Sheds). They constructed the new doors
and staircase for No. 10 Downing Street when Erith was commissioned to design its
reconstruction.
This sub area contains seven houses by Erith, six on Gandish Road and Kells around the
corner on Rectory Hill. He also designed the Constable Memorial Hall, within the village
recreation ground and playing fields. Elsewhere in the village he designed Pound House in
the village centre, and provided internal alterations at High Trees House at Quintons Triangle
as well as on houses in other nearby villages, certainly Dedham. Other houses where he
worked may come to light over the course of time but this collection remains an important
contribution to the early 20th century historic, associative, and architectural values of the
conservation area.
The street pattern is simple, with a small crossroads comprising the eastern end of Rectory
Hill, the north eastern entry to Flatford Lane and Gandish Road extending north which began
as a track across the heath. Buildings in the conservation area west of the crossroads cluster
close together in compact plots with several of the older houses and former shops rising
direct from the pavement edge.
Gandish Road is a long curving road reflecting the historic edge of the Heath. For much of its
length housing is only present to the west, with a fully rural character of grassy verge and
hedgerow on the east.
Domestic boundaries around the cross roads are a mix of hedges and timber fences in
varying styles, all modern, with several historic buildings close to the crossroads directly
backing the pavement. There is a notable sense of closer knit and denser built form here
which rapidly transitions to rural greenery along Rectory Hill and down Flatford Lane.
Gandish road swiftly develops a more spacious character after leaving the crossroads where
hedges become the predominant boundary which in combination with well set back houses
and mature trees along the street given a very verdant quality. The plots become quite
regular and widely spaced with a consistent back line, all indicative of the enclosure period
where plots were set out more regularly and deliberately. Short sections of low wall or fence
are seen alongside gate piers but solid brick walls are not a characteristic.
Buildings in this area are mainly domestic with much of Gandish Road being 20th century in
nature. Oranges and Lemons café occupies a former public house ‘The Kings Head’ and this
previous use is still understandable in its character and substantial car parking area. Several
of the smaller houses across the road from Oranges and Lemons were also once shops.
Figure 191: Oranges and Lemons, former Kings Head public house
Boundaries
3.3 Burnt Oak and Gandish Road
Street and route patterns
Building types and uses
Figure 192: former shops facing Oranges and Lemons
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 96

The Village Hall and playing fields provide communal and leisure functions. They are served
by good car parking provision.
Farming use is still suggested in the historic buildings at the eastern end of Gandish Road
with Mill Farm.
Two storeys is the predominant height with few examples of attic conversions and dormers.
Smaller storey heights typical of historic buildings and tighter spacing giving an impression
of more intimate development particularly when compared to the later 20th century
buildings with more generous floor to ceiling heights.
Gandish Road has relatively well sized yet modest houses all within good sized gardens and
set well back from the road creating sense of general spaciousness.
The Village Hall, Constable Hall, represents a larger footprint signalling its community use
alongside its location with the playing fields but is still a modest sized building. Later
additions to this area are on a smaller scale and very diminutive.
Rendered facades, or painted brick is prevalent, with brick being the principal underlying
material and clear at chimneys. Claycott’s is an ancient 16th century timber framed building
dating to the but it is largely rendered with some sense of textured panels so that this
construction type is not overt.
Gandish Road buildings utilise frequent brick but are very mixed, in keeping with individual
plot development over the course of the 20th century. There is a relatively consistent
building line and good accommodation for cars parked on properties, though some still
present along the route.
Horizontal sliding sashes are a notable feature at Burnt Oak, present on both 1-3 Gandish
Road and ‘the Townhouse’ a multi-phase building forming the corner between Rectory Hill
and Flatford Lane.
The overhanging first floor and arched features between Oak Cottage and The Haywain and
recessed arch detail and round windows on Kells (date stone on front 1832) are unique
individual features adding visual interest and character.
Figure 193: Claycotts and its associated outbuilding on the left. Rendered timber framing
and the highest grade listed building in this sub area at II* (image: EBS)
Building Scale and Massing
Materials and Details
Figure 194f: Rendered walls and horizontal sliding sashes on Figure 195: Overhanging first floors to allow
access between cottages to the rear areas.

3.3 Burnt Oak and Gandish Road
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 97

The Village Hall and associated playing fields and sports pitches are the most substantial
area of public realm and an important community resource.
Mature trees present on Gandish Road are important to this area’s verdant quality and
screening of houses contributing to sense of spaciousness.
Trees on Rectory Hill and Flatford Land serve to enclose the settlement at the crossroads
and there is a marked contrast on leaving Burnt Oak and moving down along Rectory Hill as
well as in the opposite direction.
This area is not a focus for Constable works. As with the area along Gaston Street and
around Gaston End this appears to reflect Constable’s focus in the area of his family’s
ownership, work and society life. Though John Constable features ordinary folk in many of
his paintings, his focus is quite clearly on the central part of the village and at Flatford in
terms of his subject matter.
The view on entry into the conservation area from White Horse Road is positive offering a
clear ability to appreciate arrival at this historic focus of settlement particularly through the
contrast in building types and styles between those found at the crossroads and those on
White Horse Road.
Long views along Gandish Road in both directions present a spacious verdant character with
important series of mature oak trees and the buildings set well back and screened. Though
Gandish Road is developed for almost all of its length the houses are peripheral to the
experience when moving along Gandish Road.
The view on leaving this area towards Rectory Hill presents a distinct contrast between the
relatively closely developed hamlet at the crossroads and a transition to verdant almost
wooded greenery of eastern end of Rectory Hill, there is a marked change in character here
that reflects and reinforces the sense of separateness between the village core and this
satellite settlement.
Public Realm, Open Spaces, trees/green landscape
3.3 Burnt Oak and Gandish Road
Positive views
Figure 197: Emerging from Rectory Hill towards Burnt Oak where
the Town House (former village poor house) is prominent.
Figure 196: Wooded character of Gandish Road looking towards
Burnt Oak, the buildings are well screened on this entry.
Figure 198: One of the more ancient buildings at the northern
end of Gandish Road, more open and closer to the road.
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 98

This area contains nine listed buildings, of which only Claycott’s is designated at a higher
Grade II*. The listed buildings generally represent the best of the pre-20th century
buildings in this area.
The row of red brick cottages at 1-3 Gandish Road (see over) retain period brickwork,
horizontal sliding sash windows and evidence of former doorways. They occupy a traditional
back of pavement edge position and are understood as part of the historic group at the
crossroads, historically facing over the heath. The box like rear addition is not positive.
The group of houses by Raymond Erith, and including the Village Hall, are all of historic,
architectural and high local interest with associative interest to the architect, who has
several listed buildings to his name, including no’s 10-12 Downing Street in London. There is
also wider contextual links to other buildings he worked on both in East Bergholt itself
(Pound House in the village centre, and High Trees Farmhouse at Gaston End).
The buildings by Erith in this area are:
• Kells, 1939 for Mr Stow. Erith was highly amused some years later to hear this
house described as a ‘fine example of early 19th century architecture’.
• Box House, the southern most house on Gandish road, 1950 for Mr and Mrs
Garnham.
• Newlands, The Red House, Grayling and Fairacre, a consecutive group of four
opposite the Memorial Hall, constructed between 1952-57.
• White Lodge, slightly further north but of similar era, 1995-7.
• Constable Memorial Hall, 1957-59.
Audit of Heritage Assets and Positive Contributors
3.3 Burnt Oak and Gandish Road
Figure 205: Newlands (Image: JL)
Figure 199: Constable Memorial Hall
Figure 203: Red house (Image: JL
Figure 200: Box house Figure 201: Kells
Figure 202: Fairacre Figure 204: Grayling (Image: JL)
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 99

At the northern end of this character area is a further cluster of historic buildings which
reflect the typical pre-enclosure encroachment along the edge of the former Heath. Several
are indicated on the Brasier Map (Figure 18 p.17). Two are listed, one being a semi-
detached pair, (‘Gandish House’ and ‘Cottages to the east of Yew Tree Cottage’) but others
retain historic brickwork, diminutive scale, traditional windows and construction typical of
the area and indicative of their historic origins, probably in the 18th century. These are Yew
Tree Cottage, on the northern side, and Peel Cottage, a lone dwelling on the south eastern
side of Gandish Road. They retain red brick walling, traditional detailing at windows and
doors and form an important and illustrative group in this sub-area.
Parking on streets can be quite visually prominent on Gandish Road and around Burnt Oak
obscuring buildings and somewhat diminishing its rural character, particularly at the
southern end though the number of cars varied considerably over the several visits during
the assessment period so is not necessarily a constant feature.
Comparatively standard collection of street furniture, standard lap board fencing, utility
boxes and markers in combination with telegraph poles and prominent overhead wires at
the Burnt Oak crossroads presents a somewhat cluttered appearance at this entrance to the
conservation area.
An opportunity to provide greater information about Raymond Erith and his contribution to
the architectural interest of East Bergholt would enrich this sub character area’s special
character. It could usefully be focussed on the Constable Memorial Hall as a building by this
architect with regular public access.
Figure 206: The positive contributor cottages at 1-3 Gandish Road
somewhat slighted by unsightly standardised utilities installations, and a
somewhat over sized rear extension.
3.3 Burnt Oak and Gandish Road
Issues and opportunities
Figure 206a: The positive contributor ‘Yew Tree Cottage’. Figure 206b: The positive contributor Peel Cottage
Positive Contributors continued
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

3.4
Flatford Mill

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 101

Figure 208: Flatford Mill looking past Willy Lott’s Cottage
3.4 Flatford Mill
An ancient settlement represented by archaeological remains, a moated enclosure and a
well preserved compact group of early buildings from the 14th and 15th centuries.
Church Field, Glebe Field and documentary records are testament to an early location of a
chapel up to the 18th century. The field patterns in the valley base and on the valley slopes
around Flatford are directly comparable to the arrangement depicted on the 1731 Brasier
Map and reflecting well preserved medieval enclosures. The sunken Flatford Mill Lane add to
the early field patterns illustrating longstanding routes to the river.
An important location on the Stour Navigation with features directly related to its working
life between 1705-1909. The dry dock, recently restored, provides important means to
understand a core location for boat building for the navigation—the majority of Stour
Lighters were constructed in Flatford.
The Constable family shaped much of the character of the main mill buildings in the later
18th century, this reinforces the historic values and provides important contextual links to
other properties and areas within the wider conservation area. Flatford was the site of a mill
recorded in the Domesday Survey again speaking to the antiquity of this settlement.
Many of Constables most famous works use the buildings and landscape around Flatford as
their subject, or the background to his scenes of rural workers both in the fields and on the
Navigation. There is a high sense of continuity between scenes he painted and the
experience afforded today. The East Bergholt Society identify Flatford as the focus for 39
works by Constable, with further locations along the river.
Many of these paintings are world renowned, and they include almost all from the series
known as ‘six footers’ – referencing their size – all of which explore the landscape of the
Stour River and five of which can be identified clearly within or close to Flatford. Lucian
Freud declared the Leaping Horse to be ‘the greatest painting in the world’. The textural
brushwork, the huge scale, the sense of light, movement and combination of water and
skies and rural landscape, all render this collection of works exceptionally important, and
opportunities to visit the sites that inspired them are unique and significant both artistically
and historically.
Summary of Special Interest
Figure 207: Constable’s paining “Flatford Mill” Oil on Panel, 1810-1811, Yale
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 102

3.4 Flatford Mill
Figure 209 Sub-Character Area
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 103

Flatford appears to have been an ancient centre of settlement possibly right back to the
Saxon period and certainly firmly established by the 13th century when two large farmsteads
are in place, one including a moated enclosure (HER ref: MSF5050) around which
Gibbonsgate Farm evolved (Lake 2024, p.37). Evidence suggests the population of the wider
parish supported a chapel in Flatford now reflected in long standing field names and
supported in the historic location of a parsonage close to the top of Tunnel Lane prior to the
early 18th century. In 1536 there are records of a fulling mill at Flatford, for the processing
of cloth though the current mill is a much later structure for corn processing. The woollen
cloth trade which had generated a huge amount of wealth in this area had declined by the
early 16th century leaving agriculture the principal source of trade and support for the area.
In 1705 an act of Parliament made the Stour a navigable river, and 13 locks were installed
down stream of Flatford, which represents the lowest crossing point not affected by tides.
These locks allowed horse drawn barges, known as lighters, to travel up and down the river
to ports at Mistley where goods were transferred to Thames barges and ships for transport
on to London and elsewhere. The locks allowed a steady increase in prosperity for those in
East Bergholt, not least the Constable family who acquired the Flatford Mill property in 1742.
By this time the milling was for corn rather than fulling reflecting the decline in the wool
trade.
The decline in the river for navigation occurred in the mid 19th century with the arrival of the
railway. The Stour had never seen the creation of formal towpaths, because of land owner
objections and the complexity of sorting out rights of way, which meant horses pulling the
lighters had to cross multiple times subject to individual arrangements with local landowners.
By the early 20th century Flatford Mill and many of the other buildings were at a point near
dereliction. The Society for the Protection of Ancient Buildings (SPAB) were consulted, but
restoration of the properties was not undertaken because of associated costs. Thomas
Parkington, an Ipswich builder and philanthropist heard about the site and after a visit with
his wife promptly bought the Flatford estate and began undertaking repairs in line with
SPABs guidance.
When Parkington died, despite his intention to pass the estate to the National Trust, financial
constraints meant that the National Trust initially had to purchase the site, later being paid
back by the estate of Thomas Parkington, honouring his original intention to bequeath the
site to the nation. A stone memorialising Parkington’s involvement in the saving of the
Flatford Mill buildings was discovered in a field in 2021, proposals are underway to see it
formally reinstated within the site.
The National Trust lease many of the buildings out to the Field Studies Council, opening this
landscape and environment to school groups and visitors.
Figure 211: the Parkington Stone, now on display close to the activity barn at Flatford
Historic Summary
3.4 Flatford Mill
Figure 210: Flatford Mill and Mill House and cottage on the left.
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 104

The area is accessed down a narrow hollow way, Flatford Mill Lane, leading off the lowest
point of Flatford Lane. These routes have not changed for centuries and retain a high degree
of historic authenticity, particularly with their high banks and tree cover.
There is no formal or defined ‘plot pattern’, the collection of historic buildings has evolved
over time to serve the river and its functionality, and to provide accommodation for the
farms in this area. Buildings are irregularly grouped. Willy Lots Cottage, Valley Farmhouse
and Bridge Cottage provide differing scales of accommodation each with some sense of
domestic curtilage. The relationship between the buildings and the river remains of critical
importance.
At the western edge of this sub area a series of more modern houses has been constructed
off the lane running on the western side of the National Trust car park. They are very well
screened and visually unobtrusive so their more standard forms and materials do not overtly
detract from the area.
The boundaries within the area are mainly hedges reflecting the rural character. The historic
buildings do not generally fall within individual plots contributing to their interconnected
historic nature and shared functions, though there is some sense of domestic curtilage,
again defined by hedges, at Valley Farmhouse and to a small area around Willy Lots
Cottage.
The modern dwellings are within individual plots, with car parking and individual drives, they
are generally very well screened from the wider landscape by mature tall hedges and trees.
Flatford comprises a close group of historic buildings covering industrial milling purposes,
agricultural uses and domestic traditions. Alongside the buildings there are also the
important Flatford Locks, which illustrate the history of the River as a navigable transport
link, bridges reflecting long term connection across the banks, and a dry dock, recently
reconstructed, illustrating boat building and repair functions.
Modern structures have also been added to facilitate public access to the group and include
ticket and information kiosks, public toilets, a café and shop.
Comparatively varied ranging from the large mass of the mill building (see image on
previous page) right down to the very diminutive Bridge Cottage.
Buildings are two storeys or one and a half, but scales vary widely reflecting the contrast
between industrial, agricultural and domestic uses. The differing alignments of buildings
provide visual contrast and the roof forms are also relatively varied adding visual interest.
Figure 212: Flatford Mill Lane, sunken track leading from
Flatford Lane down to the riverside group
Street and Plot Patterns
3.4 Flatford Mill
Boundaries
Building types and uses
Figure 213: The track running through Flatford with open fields on the right
and agricultural and industrial buildings on the left.
Figure 214: Modern WCs and stores with disabled parking
areas introduced at the lower end of Flatford Mill Lane.
Building scale and massing
Building types and uses
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 105

Materials and Detailing
Valley Farmhouse represents an important and well preserved example of traditional timber
framing from the 14th century. Willy Lott’s Cottage is also timber framed, but rendered
though its early characteristics are recognisable in its architectural forms and details and it
ha remained relatively unaltered since depicted frequently by Constable.
The 18th century red brick construction of Flatform Mill and the adjacent Millers House and
cottage are striking buildings with close relationship to the river. Perpendicular ranges
include weather boarding as well and this material is seen on some of the more recent
additions into the site as well.
Thatch is featured at Bridge Cottage and on the restored barn range adjacent to the Mill.
Details of industrial and functional features of the Stour Navigation are important to the
special interest here with the dry dock, lock and bridges all closely appreciable from the
paths along the river.
Much of the land at Flatford is under the stewardship of the National Trust and public access
is facilitated not only by the public footpaths but additional permitted routes. Picnic benches
around the café and shop close to the restored dry dock enable moments to dwell and
experience the buildings.
The large car park just off of Flatford Lane enables considerable visitor numbers. It is a
relatively prominent feature but car parking spaces are divided by trees which soften the
visual impact. Pedestrian routes from the car park have now shifted the experience away
from the hollow way of Tunnel Lane changing the way that the historic collection of buildings
is approached.
The open landscape is rural and focussed on the river with the rising landscape that leads
into the rolling valley slopes leading up to the hill. Permitted routes and public rights of way
give access to a wide portion of this land.
Figure 215-216: Thatch remains as a roofing material in Flatford, though is now absent from the
rest of East Bergholt Village
3.4 Flatford Mill
Figure 217-218: Detail of Flemish bond brickwork and arched window in the mill and, right, the lock
gates
Public Realm, open space and trees/green landscape
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 106

The truly key views within Flatford are those represented and reproduced in John
Constable’s multiple paintings and sketches around the mill, the lock and surrounding river
bank, flood meadows and fields. There is almost no perspective he did not capture to some
degree (see Section 2.5). For clarity these key views are not all individually illustrated on the
Sub character area Map, there are at least 40 vantage points reliably identified in Flatford
captured in Constable’s works, both the major works but also sketches and studies which
exhibit a vitality and freshness which are as interesting as the finished works.
Opportunities to ‘recreate’ the famous vantage points of “The Haywain”, or “View on the
Stour” are well accessed. Views from the higher ground south of Flatford Lane are
accentuated by National Trust ‘view point’ feature – with an invitation to share to a group
social medial hashtag.
Paths from the higher ground directly north of Flatford gives glimpses of the landscape and
the buildings at Flatford at the valley base.
The Flatford character area includes only five listed buildings but four of them are included
at Grade I (Flatford Mill, Millers House and Cottage, Willy Lots Cottage and Valley
Farmhouse) and the final one, Bridge Cottage is Grade II*. The high grades of these
buildings reflect the international significance and importance of this group. The links and
association with the Constable family, and Constable’s paintings is reflected in the list
descriptions of all of the listed buildings.
Unlisted structures around the river including the lock and various bridges as well as the dry
dock are all of historic interest, though many are modern restorations. They contribute
positively to the character and appearance of this area and allow understanding of important
historic features.
Key Views
3.4 Flatford Mill
Audit of Heritage Assets
Figure 219-220: Millers House and Cottage and Flatford Mill, Grade I
Figure 1: Valley farmhouse and Willy Lott’s Cottage, Grade I
Figure 221-222: Bridge Cottage, Grade II* and, right: dry dock positive contributor, flooded in winter 2025
Figure 223-224: Flatford Lock and (below) bridge, restored features but remaining positive
contributors
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 107

Comparative scenes
3.4 Flatford Mill

Figure 225-226: ‘Flatford old Bridge and Bridge Cottage on the Stour’ 1835, pencil, pen, ink and wash,
V+A, below the scene today.
Figure 227-228: ‘View on the Stour near Dedham’ 1822, Huntingdon Museum of Art, California. Below
today’s pleasure boards replace the Stour lighters.
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 108

Figure 229-230: Dedham Vale with Brantham Mill’ 1809-10, Private collection and, below,
view from the hillside above Flatford with buildings nestled in trees in the centre, not an exact
vantage point but shared character
Figure 231: The National Trust Carpark
Figure 232: National Trust signage for paths and highlighting of views as a
means to enrich the experience of the landscape
Figure 233: National Trust café across the Stour adjacent to Bridge
Cottage
3.4 Flatford Mill
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 109

Figure 237: A coach passing along Flatford Lane, conflict between pedestrians and
such vehicles is an ongoing risk
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities
3.4 Flatford Mill
Issues and opportunities
The moat is not publicly accessible at present, it is not a scheduled monument but it
remains an important archaeological feature contributing to the earliest history of human
activity in this area. Opportunities to increase means of imparting understanding of its
presence and nature might be made through additional information in the area if physical
access cannot be granted, even if paths are re-opened this particular type of archaeological
feature benefits from clear explanation and interpretation to secure the widest level of
‘access’ to understanding.
There is some erosion of historic continuity with the landscape through the growth of trees
and hedges which change the sense of openness and continuity with Constable views. In
particular a series of paintings from the western bank of the Stour looking back towards the
buildings of Willy Lott’s Cottage and the area of the former Swans Nest Farm (and the moat)
are now obscured by tree growth, this includes the scene of the White Horse—one of the
famous ‘six footers’. The banks that formed the backdrop for the Haywain are also
somewhat more enclosed and overgrown than is depicted in the painting. Should the
opportunity arise and in conjunction with the National Trust, consideration should be given
to the potential opportunity to manage riverine trees in selected locations to enhance the
experience of these key vantage points in respect of the principal John Constable paintings.
Visitor pressure in terms of traffic on the very rural Flatford Lane, including coaches and
busses which barely fit down the narrow lane, and potential ad hoc parking for those who do
not wish to use the National Trust or village car parks. There is a substantial quantity of
signs both upstanding and painted on the road around the entry to the visitor carpark. While
understandably necessary to prevent travel in the wrong direction, or mistaken car
movements the character at this point of the lane becomes far more utilitarian.
Visitor pressure around historic buildings and to historic riverbanks and other structures.
Alternative visitor pedestrian route from the car park to the river has taken foot traffic away
from the hollow lane, leaving it rather peripheral to the way this part of the of the
conservation area is experienced, though there is no firm restriction to pedestrians using it.
The introduction of additional new structures, buildings, kiosks which although constrained
and supporting pubic access, may cumulatively start to detract from the historic group if
additional structures are added without careful consideration.

Figure 236: left: Study for ‘The White Horse’ identifiable as being located on the south bank of the stour
looking across the Stour towards the white gable of Willy Lott’s Cottage with the now vanished Swans Nest
farm beyond. On the right, this is the general area of this view today, reed beds are considerable and trees
beyond limit any visibility of the buildings at the height of summer, the river itself is somewhat difficult to
discern at this point..

4.0
Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 111

The Historic England guidance on the designation and appraisal of conservation areas
identifies at paras 65-67 that appraisals should consider the condition of any conservation
area’s historic buildings, spaces, public domain, general vitality and activity. The section
identifies a series of possible issues surrounding ‘condition’ and moves on to consider specific
types of ‘issue’ which may lead into more specific controls at local authority levels, the
section is worth citing before moving on to specific consideration of the condition, issues and
potential opportunities within East Bergholt:
The condition and quality of the East Bergholt Conservation Area and the vast majority of its
buildings, spaces and public realm are generally very good. There are very few areas that
might be considered to detract from the overarching sense of a well preserved historic
settlement. The reason why the extended area is considered to have sufficient qualify for
designation in part is because of that well preserved condition and sense of historic integrity
making up the conservation area as a whole.
The figure on the next page summarises the areas which have been identified that resonate
with the list here and are assessed as ‘issues’. Each such issue presents a reciprocal
‘opportunity’ whereby should the opportunity arise through planning applications, liaison with
owners, the local district and county authorities solutions might be found to enhance the
character and appearance of the conservation area in the future. Understanding where the
current character and appearance of the conservation area is perhaps not at its best, or
where risks from uses, lack of uses or other activities are found is the first stage to securing
future enhancements.
The preparation of a Conservation Management Plan in due course following the adoption of
this appraisal and the extended area will further strengthen decision making that prioritises
the desired enhancement of the area, and removal of the ‘risks’ identified here.
The following section looks briefly at the areas identified and considers how they present a
risk to the special interest of the area and what opportunities might be available to address
them.
New development pressure is a primary issue of concern where it might encroach on the
setting of the conservation area, particularly the pressure of high volume mass
housebuilding. This has been recently seen to the north where encroachment on the open
land of the former heath north of the Donkey Track visually encroaches on this important
area of the conservation area. In this northern area the land is sensitive as it is outside of
historic core of settlement, adjacent to existing mass housing but is outside the designated
landscapes which have previously offered some constraint and places the future character
and appearance of the area at further risk from cumulative development of this nature.
Poorly considered mass housing schemes that do not accurately reflect a local palette of
materials or details risk diluting the uniqueness of the settlement, the introduction of large
numbers of houses all with a very similar aesthetic, scale, material palette is directly counter
to the unique variety of East Bergholt’s built environment.
Introduction
4.0 Issues and Opportunities
• “buildings at risk or in a serious state of disrepair
• buildings where in rare cases matters of deliberate neglect may arise
• front gardens lost to hard-standing for cars
• lost architectural features and fenestration
• gap sites eroding special character
• areas of degraded public realm or poorly maintained green space areas
• where traffic, noise or odour impacts affect the ability to use or appreciate the
historic or architectural interest of the area

Generic issues that underlie obvious problems will provide evidence and identify the
need for additional controls, particularly Article 4 directions, to prevent further
erosion of the area’s special interest and support its potential capacity for beneficial
change. Such problems include:
• the effects of heavy traffic
• a low economic base resulting in vacancy and disrepair of buildings
• pressure for a particular type of change or development as well as
• specific examples (such as buildings at risk, uncontrolled, inappropriate
advertising or areas subject to vandalism or antisocial behaviour due to lack
of more positive activity)”
(Historic England (2021) HEAN 1, p.25)
East Bergholt condition, issues and opportunities.
Pressure of new development
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 112

4.0 Issues and Opportunities
Quinton’s Corner: poor condition of historic
railings, over grown. Green with important trees
and historically undeveloped corner of the former
green at Gaston’s End but aesthetically poor.
Gasgoines: Listed building at risk
Car park of the Carrier’s Arms large area of
tarmac, little sense of historic setting.
B1070: busy route through northern part of area,
discussions ongoing between EB Parish Council and
Suffolk County Council to improve pedestrian
safety along this route. Traffic noise and speed
somewhat dominating over historic character.
Traffic pressure: Accentuated along Flatford Lane
where tourist traffic and pedestrians are in
potential conflict
Congregational Church. Potential risk through
underuse leading to gradual decline, proposals
already in motion to engage with Parish Council to
secure regular and routine use for benefit of
community
Soil dump: ostensibly ‘temporary’ dump of topsoil
from nearby housing to the north, has altered the
topography and sense of the Riber Valley,
unattractive metal fencing and weedy overgrowth
is counter to the sense of continuity with
Constable’s views in this area..
Standardised utilities area: enclosure around
sub-station standardised and non-descript
Encroachment of modern housing: erosion of
setting to conservation area and open land of
heritage value. Consent for current schemes
granted but further risk remains of cumulative
effects.
Standardised utilities area: street clutter,
junction boxes, telegraph poles, accretions which
are bluntly located with little consideration of
heritage qualities. Seen at Burnt Oak, top of Fen
Lane, near War Memorial
Overgrowth: No single area but as hedges or river
trees grow up, the sense of continuity and direct
means to experience vantage points painted by
John Constable becomes eroded. Opportunity to
engage with landowners to manage areas with
potential awareness of particularly sensitive
viewpoints linked to Constable Works
Town centre/former Coop: The village shop has
recently closed presenting a risk of inactivity and
loss of vitality and footfall. The area in front of the
former shop was crowded and cluttered, and
signage of poor quality, there is a heavy car
presence here.
Figure 238: Areas of issue, eroded character or Opportunity
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 113

• The opportunity should be taken to encourage all applications for new housing to
carefully consider the specific characteristics of the conservation area and its sub
character areas, as well as the contribution made by the setting to frame any new
application and its design.
• Opportunities to ensure careful reference to Local policies, including this document and
specific Neighbourhood Plan policies on housing need, design and suitable location for
new development should be made.
• The forthcoming Neighbourhood Design Guide should be a required reference for any
future housing proposals at any scale within the conservation area or its setting.
The removal from individual properties of historic features and architectural characteristics
through a variety of means (loss of historic windows, doors, roof finishes) risks a slow and
incremental erosion of heritage quality and materials on unlisted buildings within the
conservation area. This is particularly true on traditionally constructed dwellings o building
which are not listed but which still make positive contribution to the architectural evidence of
historic building techniques and practices. The continued and preserved use of Suffolk
vernacular materials and building constructional details within the conservation area’s
building stock should be encouraged.
There is potential conflict or issue between the pressing need to adapt our traditional
housing stock to address climate change and the need to retain period character and
features. Solar panels, double glazing, the addition of ASHP units, external wall insulation all
might alter the character of buildings and over time whole streets. All measures may be
achievable if carefully considered but, particularly on unlisted buildings there is a risk of
uncontrolled visual intrusion and loss of traditional character and aesthetic.
• There is an opportunity, which might be addressed through enhanced public awareness
of Local and Neighbourhood Plan documents, including this appraisal, of the value in
heritage character, particularly on unlisted but still historic buildings, and on ways that
that might be preserved while still securing possible upgrades, particularly to thermal
performance of traditional buildings.
• Local plan guidance for owners of listed buildings in the sensitive way to retrofit and
adapt their properties might also be encouraged as best practice for owners of
traditional houses within the conservation area which are not individually designated.
Many houses have provision for parking, but there is a risk where houses have more limited
space or where households include multiple car ownership, that front boundaries may be
removed to provide increased on-property parking. Parking along streets is already partly
controlled through the presence of double yellow lines and innately narrow routes but ad hoc
parking is a potential issue.
The widespread use of double yellow lines or standardised signage presents its own risk of
suburbanising the character of the older routes and streets and adding visual clutter.
The B1070 passes through the northern part of the conservation area and is a busy through
route. Traffic volume and speed present a risk to pedestrian safety. Cars intensively parked
in the village centre dominate views within the former wider open greens on either side of
the Church and at the end of Cemetery Lane.
• Any opportunity to liaise with Highways and the relevant authorities to secure an
approach to such features which take into account the historic nature of the
settlements should be encouraged, will require liaison with wider public bodies.
4.0 Issues and Opportunities
Preservation or loss of period features and details
Parking pressure and car dominance
Figure 239-240: Examples of poorly detailed modern replacement windows. Flush to the
surrounding walls instead of recessed, applied or ‘stuck on’ glazing bars’ heavy opening casements
overlapping ‘storm window’ style instead of flush with the surrounding frames, material uPVC.

1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 114

There are a few areas within the conservation area which might be considered as being of
lower aesthetic quality whether by the presence of non-descript surfaces, fixtures or
structures, or neglected condition. It is important to note that the aesthetic qualities of some
of these areas does not negate their contribution to the activity and vibrancy of the working
settlement and community, particularly where they are associated with businesses. The
following areas might offer distinct opportunity for work, should the right conditions arise, to
enhance and better reveal elements that contribute to the historic character of the area, and
introduce means to enhance the experience of these areas.
The setting to the north east including the former windmill site . This land remains
open but is currently eroded and presents a less clear ‘connection’ to the better preserved
areas of landscape within the conservation area. The visual presence of recent housing to
the north is a clear detractor, limiting opportunities to directly understand the rural setting
and former heathland that was present in this part of the area.
• Creation of additional means for visitors or residents to understand this area’s links to
Constable’s family and paintings, may enable a greater understanding even with this
area’s more altered character.
Junction between Heath Road and Quintons Road . A small area of the former heath,
over grown and with limited maintenance and damaged railings. Though providing a
valuable green screen to some of the housing beyond, this is a rather rough patch of
greenery that might be better managed at this important historic remnant of the heath. It
should not become overly manicured, but avoidance of bramble growth would keep its
legibility as a defined corner to this historically important triangle of land (Figure 79)
Former Village Shop. At the time of initial assessment this was a valuable community
resource in the centre of the village, there was easy access to parking however, the frontage
was rather non-descript in terms of signage and the entrance area was cluttered by a
plethora of bollards, bike rings, stored crates, a standard waste bin. In late 2025 the shop
closed, the Coop relocating to a newer building on the northern edge of the village. This
presents ongoing risk to the vitality of the centre.
• It also offers opportunity for encouraged new retail or commercial spaces, rejuvenated
aesthetic and continued activity within the village core.
Surroundings of the Carriers Arms , this listed public house sits in a sea of standard
tarmac. Whilst it enables the building to be seen quite clearly, and provides invaluable
parking for customers, it is a blank and comparatively unwelcoming area which, when
reviewing historic maps, has seen the considerable erosion of historic boundaries (see Figure
81).
Figure 241: The southern apex of Quintons Corner, damaged railings, somewhat cluttered
collection of signs, the background greenery is a positive screen to post enclosure
development but the condition of this area is poor. The listed building ‘Gascoigne’s’ is
visible in the background and is on the Heritage at Risk Register.
4.0 Issues and Opportunities
Figure 242: The area outside the village shop when in use early in 2025.
Areas of eroded character and opportunities for enhancement
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities

Archaeology | Heritage | Landscape | Ecology | Visualisations | 115

4.0 Issues and Opportunities
1. Introduction – 2. Understanding the Area – 3. Character Areas – 4. Issues and Opportunities
Congregational Chapel . This historic building is still functioning to provide active worship
space for its small congregation alongside various other uses by clubs or societies. Though
this use remains important, the relatively low levels of activity have likely led to a slight
sense of neglect in its grounds.
The Deacons are in the process of transferring the church and its associated land to the
Parish Council to ensure it remains a focal building providing much needed community
facilities as well as an ongoing place of worship. Taking opportunities to encourage a wide
range of uses within such buildings is the best way of securing their longevity and
preservation.
Chaplains Cottage, Gasgoines . This is a listed building at risk. At the time of writing it
remains, derelict and boarded/bricked up and is the subject of ongoing enforcement actions.
Topsoil Mound north of the Donkey Track. This mound is ostensibly a temporary feature
but it is a detrimental feature which has altered the topography of a significant stretch along
the Riber Stream and north of the Donkey Track. The metal fencing which currently encloses
it is similarly negative within this important area of the conservation area.
General highways features . The road and pavement surfaces, hard curbs and general
utilities furniture within the area are by and large entirely standard and unremarkable. This
applies to other elements such as telephone boxes, the fencing around substations and
markers for utilities. Whilst these features are regular parts of the modern pubic domain it
may be possible to find options for such installations to be more carefully considered in the
future.
Hedgerows and overgrowth in relation to Constable Views . This identified ‘risk’ is
ephemeral and perhaps somewhat in conflict with a desire to maintain and encourage
wildlife and biodiversity. When comparing views painted by Constable to the vantage points
today, it is a frequent case that the increase in hedgerows, trees, and other greenery has
today closed off some of the views depicted by Constable, this is notable on Flatford Lane
and in some senses around Flatford itself. The National Landscape’s emphasis on natural
beauty also recognises that the shape of this landscape is ultimately one created by
mankind, not unrestrained nature.
• Consideration could be given to working with landowners to manage hedgerows or
other over growth in such a way that might maintain a degree of openness or certain
views immortalised in Constable’s paintings to emphasise and better reveal this unique
strand of heritage and artistic value within the conservation area.
Management Plan . A Management Plan for the expanded East Bergholt Conservation Area
represents a significant opportunity to proactively manage development in ways designed to
better preserve and enhance character appearance and significance Within four months of
the designation of the expanded conservation and adoption of the CAA it is intended to
have prepared and adopted an appropriate Management Plan which can build on the
characteristics identified within this report, and the issues identified here.
Figure 243: The car parking and setting of the Carriers Arms and
junction between Gaston End and Gaston Street,
Figure 244: Gasgoines/Chaplains Cottage—listed building at risk. Figure 245: Unremarkable utilities fencing close to the Box
Iron.

East Bergholt, Constable
Heartland and Flatford
Conservation Area Appraisal
21 July 2026

Directorate of Place, Babergh and Mid
Suffolk District Councils:
Heritage Team:
Vincent Pearce BA( Hons) MRTPI
Tegan Chenery BA (Hons) MSt

HCUK Group:
Jody O’Reilly BA (Hons) MA IHBC CIfA

East Bergholt Parish Council:
Joan Miller
Sallie Davies
Nigel Roberts

East Bergholt Society:
John Lyall FRIBA
East Bergholt
Parish Council
1925 drawing of A. R. Powys to demonstrate the state of repair in Willy Lott’s House. The initial efforts to preserve the house were inspired in part by the
resurgence of interest in Constable’s Paintings in the 1920s. From the beginning of the 1920s the Society for the Protection of Ancient Buildings (SPAB) made
concentrated efforts to raise awareness and interest in the preserving of the cottage which was falling into serious disrepair.
https://www.spab.org.uk/news/archive-willy-lotts-house
HCUK Group is a multi-disciplinary environmental practice offering expert advice in archaeology, heritage,
landscape, arboriculture, and planning. We began life as Heritage Collective LLP in 2010, before becoming
Heritage Collective UK Limited in 2014. Finally, in 2020, we became HCUK Group Limited
HCUK Project Number: 5784B
Version History
V1: 30.09.2025
V2: 18.01.2026
V3: 11.02.2026
V4: 09.07.2026